By using this site you agree to the use of cookies for analytics, personalised content and ads. Read more

How to tell if someone is blocking you?

Novel Adventurer

I was just wondering how you tell if someone has blocked you on skype.  I was recently talking a lot with a guy i met but suddenly he is never online and when i try to send a message to him i just get a grey circle.  Also his sign next to his user name is outlined green and is empty inside is he just offline or has he blocked me? any help is appreciated

Message 1 of 77 (635,269 Views)
76 Replies
Power User

users should not be able to distinguish between offline and blocked, but there may be ways to do it.  perhaps the discussion below would help;

 

http://community.skype.com/t5/Security-Privacy-Trust-and/How-to-tell-if-a-friend-deleted-you-from-hi...



IF YOU FOUND OUR POST USEFUL THEN PLEASE GIVE "KUDOS". IF IT HELPED TO FIX YOUR ISSUE PLEASE MARK IT AS A "SOLUTION" TO HELP OTHERS. THANKS!
ALTERNATIVE SKYPE DOWNLOAD LINKS | HOW TO RECORD SKYPE VIDEO CALLS | HOW TO HANDLE SUSPICIOS CALLS AND MESSAGES
SEE MORE TIPS, TRICKS, TUTORIALS AND UPDATES in
| skypefordummies.blogspot.com | 


Message 2 of 77 (635,265 Views)

The only ("True") method to test if you have been blocked is.

 

1. The Contact must have been added to your contact list.

2. You must have Skype voicemail.

3. Right click on the Contact name and choose ("Send Voicemail"). If it fails you have been blocked by that contact.

 

About Me You can also use a IP Camera as your camera for Skype video Example Instructions
Message 3 of 77 (635,246 Views)
Casual Adventurer

some tests i carried out for someone back in march:

 

"please remember that skype is not a very reliable product, the software is poor
and my findings should not bee taken as being 100% accurate. i’ve probably
missed hundreds of combinations and scenarios and what not. also whilst testing
i found that often skype does not connect \ refresh properly so messages do not
get sent and profiles do not appear properly.

tests were done in version

5.1.59.112

i looked at three things: can your account see the picture, can your account see contact
numbers, can your account see status tip (the status tip appears when you place
your mouse above the status icon near a contacts name.

the first series of tests were done with the profile pic being public.

when blocked:
- pic is still visible
- can still see contact numbers
- status tip says offline

when deleted:
- pic was invisible which was strange as it was public
- cannot see contact numbers
- status tip is “this person has not shared their details with you”

tested deleted again due to pic issue:

- pic was visible
- cannot see contact numbers
- status tip is “this person has not shared their details with you”

 

blocked and deleted:

- cannot see pic
- cannot see contact numbers
- status tip is “this person has not shared their details with
you”



next the pic was set to be visible to contacts only:

when blocked:
- pic is still visible
- can still see contact numbers
- status tip says offline

when deleted:
- pic was invisible
- cannot see contact numbers
- status tip is “this person has not shared their details with you”

blocked and deleted:


- cannot see pic
- cannot see contact numbers
- status tip is “this person has not shared their details with you”



so conclusion from this would be:

you cannot see the pic or the number of contacts. looking at the first scenario of where the pic is public, this only happens if you are blocked and deleted. if you are just blocked you’d still see both (i find that strange though as skype should block pic if someone blocks you in my opinion). if you are just deleted you’d still see the pic. so you’d have been deleted and blocked.

****however,***** if their pic is set to be visible to contacts only, then not seeing pic or contacts would suggest you have not been blocked. you have been deleted (or blocked and deleted).


please do note that this is not very reliable... it’s just a test i’ve done, my net connection is slow and skype is rubbish for consistent results. if you have alternative means of contacting your friend i’d suggest trying those before coming to any conclusions of your own."

"/* ___________
L Chowdhury

www.redpaperrose.com - my image gallery
lukman_chowdhury@hotmail.com
Message 4 of 77 (635,238 Views)
Power User

very similar to what we also observed here;

 

http://community.skype.com/t5/Security-Privacy-Trust-and/How-to-tell-if-a-friend-deleted-you-from-hi...



IF YOU FOUND OUR POST USEFUL THEN PLEASE GIVE "KUDOS". IF IT HELPED TO FIX YOUR ISSUE PLEASE MARK IT AS A "SOLUTION" TO HELP OTHERS. THANKS!
ALTERNATIVE SKYPE DOWNLOAD LINKS | HOW TO RECORD SKYPE VIDEO CALLS | HOW TO HANDLE SUSPICIOS CALLS AND MESSAGES
SEE MORE TIPS, TRICKS, TUTORIALS AND UPDATES in
| skypefordummies.blogspot.com | 


Message 5 of 77 (635,234 Views)
Casual Tourist

The same is happening with my own skype, on the shortcut there is a symbol  green outline & white on the inside, when i try to sign in it won't let me, even though my details are correct. I certainly don't want to block anyone. What did you find out, can you help? 

Message 6 of 77 (623,554 Views)
Novel Adventurer

I have a similar question. My friend and I had a bit of a fall through recently and I think she might have blocked me. the thing is they did have a profile picture but now the profile picture is a question mark but their online status is the green outline with white (meaning they're offline). what does that mean?

Message 7 of 77 (600,527 Views)
Casual Tourist

The method using the skype voicemail feature definitely works. I have 2 accounts. I blocked one from the other.  when I tried to send a skype voicemail the message came back that te other account had blocked me.

Message 8 of 77 (589,818 Views)
Tourist

spn1007 wrote:

The method using the skype voicemail feature definitely works. I have 2 accounts. I blocked one from the other.  when I tried to send a skype voicemail the message came back that te other account had blocked me.



Do u hv to try leaving a voice message 1st, or as long as u can hear the voicemail greeting, it means that you are not blocked?

Message 9 of 77 (583,851 Views)
1-3
Casual Tourist

When sending the voicemail does it actually says fails or person unavailable.

Message 10 of 77 (579,153 Views)