At Skype, we take account security and safety very seriously. Periodically, we review old unused accounts and remove them to prevent them falling in wrong hands and to prevent possible misuse.
Over the next few weeks, we will be removing some accounts which were created automatically for users while signing into Microsoft Outlook.com and which have not been used in the past year.
The account holders will not notice any change, they will be able to use Skype as normal should they sign into Microsoft Outlook and initiate a Skype chat. Old conversations will be archived and replaced by a new one. You might appear twice in your friend’s conversation history if the old archived conversation is still stored locally on their device.
To learn more about using Skype from Microsoft Outlook.com, please visit our FAQ.