By using this site you agree to the use of cookies for analytics, personalised content and ads. Read more

"Skype wants to use your confidential information stored in skype in your keychain

SOLVED
Go to Solution
This topic has been archived. To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Novel Adventurer

Please can someone help with this. I have been a skype user for some time but have been receiving the following pop up window since yesterday:

"Skype wants to use kyour confidential information stored in 'skype' in your keychain"

If you choose the Deny option Skype will not open.  Is this legitimate or some kind of malware.  I have run Sophos which hasn't found anything.  

If this is coming from Skype can they please issue a statement saying so, if not please give a warning.

I am really not sure whether I can use any more and may just return to Facetime.

Message 1 of 12 (13,657 Views)
1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
Novel Tourist
Solution
Accepted by Carola (Moderator)
‎28-08-2015 11:00

Hi Guys,
I had the same issue, I found a simple solution to not to face those 10 messages of "Always Allow" every time that I open Skype.app, First, execute your keychan Access, search SKYPE, two keys will appeared in my case, then dobleclick over one of them, go to Access Control tab, then select "Allow all Applications to Access this Item", repeat the same process for the other key, that's it, Second, in case that you have the same problem with the "Skype wants to access to you contacts", you have to go to System Preference pane, select Security and Privacy icon, then Privacy tab, select Contacts in the list on the left had side, finally uncheck Skype.app from the right side list. I don't know how much I'm exposing my system doing this but at least I will not have to deal with this annoying situations anymore.



View solution in original post

11 Replies
Novel Adventurer

I'm not from Skype but its legit. OS X will display the warning if a new or updated program attempts to access your keychain. Keychain is part of OS X which consolidates saved passwords and security certificates. I get the warning each time Skype updates and the new version attempts to accesses my login password the first time. If you click "Always Allow" it will quit pestering you. 

 

To quote from the Apple support forums:

"Your keychain is where OS X stores all system confidential information such as your admin password. If you eliminate the Keychain then you no longer can logon to your computer. The keychain is protected by strong encryption. It's an excellent place to store confidential information.

You may not use the Keychain specifically, but applications on your computer do use it. What [Skype] is doing is asking your permission to get the login information for your [Skype] account. This is only for login purposes. Nothing is provided elsewhere. It is secure."

 

Hope that helps.

Message 2 of 12 (13,568 Views)
Novel Tourist

This message started appearing for me too. I didn't understand it...so I always clicked "deny". It doesn't lock me out of anything....IF I click "deny" twice. Then it logs me in. I just hve the annoying message appear everytime I log in to Skype. Double click. I think this started when I let my system update to the newer version of Skype--whick I did not and do not like. The way it used to display contacts, for some reason, I preferred. But getting used to it. It is so threatening to read "use your confidentialinformation".

Message 3 of 12 (12,477 Views)
Novel Tourist
Solution
Accepted by Carola (Moderator)
‎28-08-2015 11:00

Hi Guys,
I had the same issue, I found a simple solution to not to face those 10 messages of "Always Allow" every time that I open Skype.app, First, execute your keychan Access, search SKYPE, two keys will appeared in my case, then dobleclick over one of them, go to Access Control tab, then select "Allow all Applications to Access this Item", repeat the same process for the other key, that's it, Second, in case that you have the same problem with the "Skype wants to access to you contacts", you have to go to System Preference pane, select Security and Privacy icon, then Privacy tab, select Contacts in the list on the left had side, finally uncheck Skype.app from the right side list. I don't know how much I'm exposing my system doing this but at least I will not have to deal with this annoying situations anymore.



Routine Adventurer

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU Jerryher01, you've made my day and stopped me from punching my computer screen everytime I want to open skype!

Message 5 of 12 (7,138 Views)
Novel Adventurer

" What [Skype] is doing is asking your permission to get the login information for your [Skype] account. This is only for login purposes. Nothing is provided elsewhere. It is secure."

 

If that were true, why didn't they say that?   It is sooo annoying and I am not giving Skype / Microsoft access to my Keychain. 

 

For a start, I don't use Keychain!

 

Aggh!

Message 6 of 12 (6,691 Views)
Routine Adventurer
Everyone uses keychain. It's an integral part of OS X. All your certificates and passwords you have checked the box to say "save my password" are stored here. This doesn't include third party apps, just the OS
Message 7 of 12 (6,686 Views)
Casual Adventurer

Hello sanachnaa,

 

This is just your computer wanting to store password information in the keychain so that if you forget it you can recover your password through Apple and your preferences with the Admin password.

 

.InsertNameHere

Message 8 of 12 (6,660 Views)
Novel Adventurer

I think you are all missing the point. Microsoft did not announce this nor explain it  and it defeats the privacy and Security of Keychain. 

 

Besides I do not use Keychain, but the methods people describe here to stop the never ending requests to use Keychain, gives Microsoft access. 

 

Microsoft/ Skype did not publish my last reply, instead sent a solution - but it didn't work. 

Message 9 of 12 (6,546 Views)
Tourist

This is pretty clearly a Skype bug (attached screenshot proves this).

 

Basically, Skype is changing its appliation ID every time it's launched, which causes Keychain to believe it's a different app each time.

 

The workaround is to allow "All applications" access, however this means anything else running on your computer can grab those credentials, which is not ideal.


Message 10 of 12 (5,446 Views)
Discussion Stats
  • 11 replies
  • 13658 views
  • 16 kudos
  • 10 in conversation