Skype icon must be open to receive calls?

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Accepted Solution

Skype icon must be open to receive calls?

I'm new to skype on my iPhone. Do I have to have the Skype icon open to receive a call? If so, how do you have it open all the time? Today I opened the icon and it said I had two missed calls from yesterday, but I was on 3G all day, so it seems like you have to have skype open to receive calls. But how do you always have it open on an iPhone?

Thank you!

Accepted Solution

by wd9ewk

clh3y wrote:

I'm new to skype on my iPhone. Do I have to have the Skype icon open to receive a call? If so, how do you have it open all the time? Today I opened the icon and it said I had two missed calls from yesterday, but I was on 3G all day, so it seems like you have to have skype open to receive calls. But how do you always have it open on an iPhone?

Thank you!

On the iOS devices (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad), you have to add Skype to the Notification Center to receive calls when the Skype app is in the background.  The Notification Center is in the iPhone's Settings.  When you add Skype to the Notification Center, make sure to select an alert that will show up on the phone's display (a banner across the top of the display, or a larger alert in the middle of the screen).  Then turn on the 3 other settings - Badge App Icon, Sounds, and View in Lock Screen. 

Once you do this, the Skype app can run in the background and get your attention when someone calls your Skype account - just like receiving a call on the phone itself. 

View solution in original post
clh3y
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 7
Message 1 of 15 (9,225 Views)

Re: Skype icon must be open to receive calls?