skype unable to connect

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Accepted Solution

skype unable to connect

Hi,

Hopefully someone can help me out here...

I have been using skype for quite a few years without any problems. Until about 4 weeks ago my skype icon which usually connects and loads up for me as soon as I turn on the laptop, stopped connecting. I was prompted with the skype sign in page, which I did, but still without success. The Skype icon is still on my toolbar, but when I hover over it it just tells me skype is not signed in. When I try to sign in, I get a message saying skype cannot connect. I have internet and can surf as usual, but cannot for the life of me figure out why skype is not working!

I thought it was a firewall, so I went through the steps you have listed on the help page. No success. I uninstalled, reinstalled prob 3 times, still with no success.. I tried logging in to my computer at work, and no problem, I can get into my account.

I am using Windows Vista, with 2.0GHz, 4Gb of storage and have windows defender and Malaware bytes for security....

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!

g4pilut
Community Ambassador

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

0 Kudos

As a first step I'd suggest installing the current beta version, 5.7.0.123.  You can download the installer here:  www.skype.com/go/getskype-beta

View solution in original post
linda56
Casual Adventurer

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

wow......turned off the firewall and then skype came on.  then I turned on the firewall again and all is well........so for those that have McAfee try this

View solution in original post
femur6
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 5
Message 1 of 68 (19,953 Views)

Re: skype unable to connect