c310, skype 6.3.0.105, XP SP3 crash

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Reply
Accepted Solution

c310, skype 6.3.0.105, XP SP3 crash

I have a logitech c310, skype 6.3.0.105, and am runnig XP SP3. skype crashes when i go to "video settings", "webcam settings", then press ok. also there is extreme lag with green and purple bars showing on the video feed of myself.

 this is the report:

 

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16"?>
<DATABASE>
<EXE NAME="Skype.exe" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_PRIVACY">
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="Skype.exe" SIZE="18642024" CHECKSUM="0xDF867846" BIN_FILE_VERSION="6.3.0.105" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="6.3.0.0" PRODUCT_VERSION="6.3" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Skype " COMPANY_NAME="Skype Technologies S.A." PRODUCT_NAME="Skype" FILE_VERSION="6.3.0.105" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="Skype.exe" INTERNAL_NAME="Skype.exe" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="© 2003 - 2012 Skype and/or Microsoft" VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x11D5D41" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="6.3.0.105" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="6.3.0.0" LINK_DATE="02/28/2013 18:45:54" UPTO_LINK_DATE="02/28/2013 18:45:54" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
</EXE>
<EXE NAME="ntdll.dll" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_THISFILEONLY">
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="ntdll.dll" SIZE="706048" CHECKSUM="0x864EA42F" BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" FILE_DESCRIPTION="NT Layer DLL" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft® Windows® Operating System" FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2111)" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="ntdll.dll" INTERNAL_NAME="ntdll.dll" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="© Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x40004" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0xB62BC" LINKER_VERSION="0x50001" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" LINK_DATE="04/14/2008 00:11:24" UPTO_LINK_DATE="04/14/2008 00:11:24" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
</EXE>
<EXE NAME="kernel32.dll" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_THISFILEONLY">
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="kernel32.dll" SIZE="989696" CHECKSUM="0x7D737C09" BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Windows NT BASE API Client DLL" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft® Windows® Operating System" FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2111)" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="kernel32" INTERNAL_NAME="kernel32" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="© Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x40004" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0xF44A2" LINKER_VERSION="0x50001" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" LINK_DATE="04/14/2008 00:11:24" UPTO_LINK_DATE="04/14/2008 00:11:24" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
</EXE>
</DATABASE>

 

I tried the suggestions on the forum, such as renaming the skype folder to skype_old, clean reinstalls with restart, and even wiping my hdd and reistalling windows fresh, same problem. any suggestions?

Accepted Solution

by marksailing

I have exactly the same problem after upgrading to the latest version of Skype: 6.3.0.105.  Never had a webcam settings problem with Skype before.  Camera is Logiteck V-U0004 with XP3. 

 

I have now reverted to a previous version (6.1.0.129) - as offered as the Solution in the thread Skype V. 6.3.0.105 Error.  Thanks NarutoN20 !

 

I shouldn't accept version upgrades!

View solution in original post
ridata3
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-04-2013
Message 1 of 19 (4,212 Views)

Re: c310, skype 6.3.0.105, XP SP3 crash

You may try to connect your webcam to another USB port on your computer.

 

http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows-desktop-client/Error-Skype-has-stopped-working/m-p/1479355#M12...

 

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 7419
Posts: 36817
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 19 (4,146 Views)

Re: c310, skype 6.3.0.105, XP SP3 crash

[ Edited ]

I have exactly the same problem after upgrading to the latest version of Skype: 6.3.0.105.  Never had a webcam settings problem with Skype before.  Camera is Logiteck V-U0004 with XP3. 

 

I have now reverted to a previous version (6.1.0.129) - as offered as the Solution in the thread Skype V. 6.3.0.105 Error.  Thanks NarutoN20 !

 

I shouldn't accept version upgrades!

marksailing
Tourist
Kudos: 1
Posts: 1
Registered: 18-10-2011
Message 3 of 19 (3,957 Views)

Re: c310, skype 6.3.0.105, XP SP3 crash

Marksailing, where did you find that version? Thanks for the feedback I definitely want to try it
Posted from Motorola MB860
ridata3
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-04-2013
Message 4 of 19 (3,939 Views)

Re: c310, skype 6.3.0.105, XP SP3 crash

You can install the 6.1.0.129 version using this msi-installer:

 

http://download.skype.com/msi/SkypeSetup_6.1.0.129.msi

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 7419
Posts: 36817
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 5 of 19 (3,926 Views)

Re: c310, skype 6.3.0.105, XP SP3 crash

Hey thanks for that information! I had exactly the same problem (except my webcam was a 'Creative' one) and it stopped working when I went to 6.3 Your recommended downgrade to this older version has got it back working again (I hope this problem inserted into a new version dosn't presage a reduction in quality control now that Microsoft has taken over skype!)

 

johnbad_the_bad
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 10
Registered: 16-07-2012
Message 6 of 19 (3,758 Views)

Re: c310, skype 6.3.0.105, XP SP3 crash

I went to install the 6.1 and it says its already installed. should I uninstall it and reinstall it. Also when I went to up grade it installs but then when it get to the secong part it hang. Skype stops working when I go to turn on my internal webacam
Alvinizer
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 30-03-2013
Message 7 of 19 (3,718 Views)

Re: c310, skype 6.3.0.105, XP SP3 crash

Yes, to install a different version you need to uninstall the previous one.  Go to Start -> Control Panel -> Add or remove programs and find skype on the list, then click Remove.  The replacement version should then install wihout hanging (at least it did for me..)

johnbad_the_bad
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 10
Registered: 16-07-2012
Message 8 of 19 (3,708 Views)

Re: c310, skype 6.3.0.105, XP SP3 crash

FYI (in case any of the original contributors are still reading this -  but this may help any other surfers who come across this thread anyway..)   Skype have released a new version 6.3.0.107, so I tried it out.  It is still suffering from the same problem, so I have retreated back to version 6.1.0.129 again.  I will await the next version upgrade and report back again, in case skype are actually trying to fix this.

johnbad_the_bad
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 10
Registered: 16-07-2012
Message 9 of 19 (2,467 Views)

Re: c310, skype 6.3.0.105, XP SP3 crash

Thanks "Ruwim" I installed it 6.1.0129 but it still has error, do you have any solutions more.
Thanks
Nonetnome
Casual Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 23-05-2013
Message 10 of 19 (2,345 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling