Where is push to talk? They said it was in this la...

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Reply

Where is push to talk? They said it was in this latest build. Can't find it, thanks...

It is advertised as a new feature yet i am having trouble finding it. They should be headlining new features right after the new install of any new build. This is marketing 101, cmon MS wtf.?! People have been waiting YEARS for this.

jimmyfal
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 6
Posts: 7
Registered: 02-02-2012
Message 1 of 16 (81,566 Views)

Re: Where is push to talk? They said it was in this latest build. Can't find it, thanks...

Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> Hotkeys. Select the last item and assign a hotkey. Save.

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6426
Posts: 39625
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 16 (81,418 Views)

Re: Where is push to talk? They said it was in this latest build. Can't find it, thanks...

ruwim, this is not "Push to talk", it is "Push to mute".

 

I also would like to see the "Push to talk" in Skype, but it is not supported actually, maybe they don't know how to implement it.

 

Actually it is falsly named in hotkeys settings, it only mutes the microphone, it is basically the inverse of what is supposed to do.

astronaute75
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 1
Posts: 1
Registered: 15-04-2012
Message 3 of 16 (80,283 Views)

Re: Where is push to talk? They said it was in this latest build. Can't find it, thanks...

In the latest Skype version (5.9.0.114 from April 12) there is a Hotkey for “Mute microphone” and “Toggle mute (Push-to-talk)”.

 

http://blogs.skype.com/garage/2012/04/skype_59_for_windows.html

 

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6426
Posts: 39625
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 4 of 16 (80,280 Views)

Re: Where is push to talk? They said it was in this latest build. Can't find it, thanks...

Toggle Mute is NOT push to talk - even if it says it is - its a badly named option.

 

Its push to NOT talk! or put another way, push to mute, and no surprise, thats exactly how it works.  Push it, and your muted, let go, and your not muted.

Mehuge
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 23-04-2012
Message 5 of 16 (79,550 Views)

Re: Where is push to talk? They said it was in this latest build. Can't find it, thanks...

I agree with you that it's a badly named option.  However, if you understand how it works (even if it is backwards), you can get it to function as push-to-talk.

 

If you mute your mic, using either a hotkey for that or the button on the toolbar at the bottom of the Window, then the "Toggle mute" hotkey will function as push-to-talk. 

 

Screwy, but better than nothing.

 

 

 




Please note: I do not respond to requests for help via Private Message.
g4pilut
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 1112
Posts: 12934
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 6 of 16 (79,545 Views)

Re: Where is push to talk? They said it was in this latest build. Can't find it, thanks...

This is so silly. Making us hold down a key until we wanted to talk or constantly clicking the mute/unmute button.

Belbe
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 1
Posts: 1
Registered: 30-04-2012
Message 7 of 16 (78,824 Views)

Re: Where is push to talk? They said it was in this latest build. Can't find it, thanks...


Belbe wrote:

This is so silly. Making us hold down a key until we wanted to talk or constantly clicking the mute/unmute button.


actually that is not the case

 

you can have it either way, meaning that the Toggle Mute function can be made to be either push-to-talk or push-to-mute

 

it all depends on the state of Microphone Mute that exists before you press the Toggle Mute hotkey

Regards,
Neil
Neil
Super Adventurer
Kudos: 397
Posts: 4801
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 8 of 16 (72,956 Views)

Re: Where is push to talk? They said it was in this latest build. Can't find it, thanks...

This works. Just make sure that your microphone is muted before you turn the feature on! 

 

taberif730
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 27-06-2012
Message 9 of 16 (69,491 Views)

Re: Where is push to talk? They said it was in this latest build. Can't find it, thanks...


taberif730 wrote:

This works. Just make sure that your microphone is muted before you turn the feature on! 

 


actually you can mute your mic anytime -- the functionality of Push-to-Talk or Push-to-Mute just reverses each time you mute or unmute

 

Regards,
Neil
Neil
Super Adventurer
Kudos: 397
Posts: 4801
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 10 of 16 (69,486 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling