Skype won't install--"insufficient privileges"

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Accepted Solution

Skype won't install--"insufficient privileges"

[ Edited ]

Windows 7 user here. I have had Skype before on this computer, but today the program suddenly disappeared. I have tried reinstalling it, but every time I do an error message shows up stating:

 

"The installer has insufficient privileges to access this directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\Skype. The installation cannot continue. Log on as administrator or contact your system administrator."

 

Seeing as I am the system administrator, I have no idea what is going on. I have already tried to run the installer as administrator and have checked the security options in the properties to ensure that I have the proper permissions. Neither of these have worked.

 

Please help me out. I'm pretty lost as to what to do right now.

Tamim
Super Aviator

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

go to C:\Program Files (x86)\ and Right click Skype folder  >> then click Properties.

 
On the security tab, click permissions or Edit. Select the "Everyone" group >> click "Full Control" in the Type of Access List. 


Select the Replace Permissions on Subdirectories check box. Click OK >> Yes.

 

Here is a MR. FixIT

 

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/886549

 

Visit the page and Click the FixIT icon.

 

Restart your PC.

 

redownload Skype with this link

http://www.skype.com/go/getskype-full

 

Run the installer with ADMIN rights

Right click the "SkypeSetupFull.exe" and select "Run as administrator"

View solution in original post
kas-elakh
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 30-08-2012
Message 1 of 21 (19,059 Views)

Re: Skype won't install--"insufficient privileges"

re-download and install Skype with this link:

http://download.skype.com/msi/SkypeSetup_5.10.0.116.msi

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6471
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 2 of 21 (19,037 Views)

Re: Skype won't install--"insufficient privileges"

The issue is still occurring, but thank you for trying to help.

kas-elakh
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 30-08-2012
Message 3 of 21 (19,036 Views)

Re: Skype won't install--"insufficient privileges"

[ Edited ]

go to C:\Program Files (x86)\ and Right click Skype folder  >> then click Properties.

 
On the security tab, click permissions or Edit. Select the "Everyone" group >> click "Full Control" in the Type of Access List. 


Select the Replace Permissions on Subdirectories check box. Click OK >> Yes.

 

Here is a MR. FixIT

 

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/886549

 

Visit the page and Click the FixIT icon.

 

Restart your PC.

 

redownload Skype with this link

http://www.skype.com/go/getskype-full

 

Run the installer with ADMIN rights

Right click the "SkypeSetupFull.exe" and select "Run as administrator"

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6471
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 4 of 21 (19,030 Views)

Re: Skype won't install--"insufficient privileges"

Seems to have worked! Thank you so much, Tamim! (◡‿◡✿)

kas-elakh
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 30-08-2012
Message 5 of 21 (18,998 Views)

Re: Skype won't install--"insufficient privileges"

You are very welcome and thanks for the feedback.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6471
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 6 of 21 (18,996 Views)

Re: Skype won't install--"0.5/27.9MB Insufficient Permissions"

I am a new (hopefully" user. Running on XP. I'm novice and no idea how to trouble shoot. Please advise?

caboy4747
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 04-12-2012
Message 7 of 21 (17,820 Views)

Re: Skype won't install--"0.5/27.9MB Insufficient Permissions"

Download and run the FixIT

http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=9708107

 

Restart your computer and then try installing Skype.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6471
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 8 of 21 (17,809 Views)

Re: Skype won't install--"0.5/27.9MB Insufficient Permissions"

I get the same Insufficient Permissions response

caboy4747
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 04-12-2012
Message 9 of 21 (17,806 Views)

Re: Skype won't install--"0.5/27.9MB Insufficient Permissions"

caboy4747,

Have you already tried my previous post?

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6471
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 10 of 21 (17,805 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling