Skype performance is very slow.

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Reply
Accepted Solution

Skype performance is very slow.

Hello,

 

I am currently using the newest version of Skype. I have been noticing over the past year that Skype seems to be getting slower and slower over time with each update while increasing in the amount of RAM used and CPU usage. It's usually spiking around 600 MB of RAM usage now and about 60-90% CPU usage alone. It's now at the point where Skype takes awhile to open, minimize, and to switch between conversations. I also can't click the home tab without Skype constantly freezing.

 

I have ~600 Skype contacts, and quite a few groups that constantly chat.

 

Specs:

Windows XP Professional SP3 x32

Intel Pentium D Dual Core 2.8 Ghz

Nvidia 7300 GT 256MB onboard

1280 x 1024 native resolution

4 GB RAM (Although I can only use 3 GB with XP.)

 

Is there anyway to improve Skype performance? I have no add-ons installed. I haven't deleted my chat history in a few years.

 

Thanks,

chaojimbo

-----

"The most important thing in Life is Life itself."

Accepted Solution

by chaojimbo

Sadly, neither of those things worked.

 

My friend sent me a downgrade to 5.9 through Skype and it actually worked. I uninstalled Skype and reinstalled the downgrade and turned off automatic updates.

 

For the time being, it seems to be on Skype's side.

View solution in original post
0 Kudos
chaojimbo
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 01-09-2012
Message 1 of 5 (11,855 Views)

Re: Skype performance is very slow.

[ Edited ]

Make sure Skype not runs in Compatibility Mode.

 

compabtibility1.PNG

 

https://support.skype.com/en/faq/FA11028/should-i-run-skype-in-compatibility-mode

 

try reset Skype settings

http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows/Skype-auto-logs-off/m-p/938210/highlight/true#M69026

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
0 Kudos
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 8146
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 2 of 5 (11,839 Views)

Re: Skype performance is very slow.

Sadly, neither of those things worked.

 

My friend sent me a downgrade to 5.9 through Skype and it actually worked. I uninstalled Skype and reinstalled the downgrade and turned off automatic updates.

 

For the time being, it seems to be on Skype's side.

-----

"The most important thing in Life is Life itself."
0 Kudos
chaojimbo
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 01-09-2012
Message 3 of 5 (11,807 Views)

Re: Skype performance is very slow.

Glad to hear, and thanks for the feedback.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
0 Kudos
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 8146
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 4 of 5 (11,576 Views)

Re: Skype performance is very very very very slow.

Old thread closed. New post transferred to Skype for Computer: Mac message board, as post is related to Mac and thread is on Windows message board.

0 Kudos
Elaine
Moderator
Moderator icon
Kudos: 1252
Posts: 7523
Registered: 08-08-2011
Message 5 of 5 (6,884 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling