Skype does not load home screen

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Accepted Solution

Skype does not load home screen

I'm having trouble with my Dutch Skype account. After logging on, the "home" screen never loads, I only see the spinning dial for a few seconds, after that the screen is blanc. I've tried every step described in the 2 topic below, but it still doesn't work. I'm using windows Vista, IE9 and McAfee Antivirus Plus.

http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows-desktop-client/Skype-does-not-load-home-and-cannot-add-contact...

 

http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows-desktop-client/Skype-6-1-Home-screen-does-not-load/m-p/1354313


Can anybody help me please, I want to connect Facebook to Skype.

Tamim
Super Aviator

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

You are very welcome.

View solution in original post
PatrickNijhof
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 24-01-2013
Message 1 of 16 (4,250 Views)

Re: Skype does not load home screen

Have you tried to reset all Internet Explorer settings?

 

What do you see when you open this page in your Internet Explorer?

 

https://apps.skype.com/home/

 

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6968
Posts: 44331
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 16 (4,219 Views)

Re: Skype does not load home screen

Thanks.

 

Yes I've reset all internet explorer setting (cookies, files, e.g.) and updated IE to the latest version.

 

When I open the link I see a page where I can connect and search in my adress book.

PatrickNijhof
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 24-01-2013
Message 3 of 16 (4,213 Views)

Re: Skype does not load home screen

Try Below:

 

Please Run the Cleaning Manager Utility

 

Press WinKey + R to open the Run window

WinKey (the button is located between the left Ctrl and Alt with the Windows logo)

 

winkey1.png

 

Type: cleanmgr tuneup and press Enter

select the Temp Internet Files boxes and click OK, then Click Delete files.

 

Now Check Proxy settings

 

In Internet Explorer, Go to, Tools >> Internet Options... >> Connections>> Lan settings , Use a proxy server... if it had been ticked, then... Remove that check. Make sure automatically detect settings is enabled. (Marked)

 

ieproxy.PNG

 

Please Do a Skype Reset.

 

Exit Skype : From the system tray >> right click on the skype icon and click "Quit"

 

esci da skype.PNG

 

Press WinKey + R to open the Run window

 

type: %programdata%\Skype\Apps and press Enter

 

programdata.PNG

 

Rename the folder login to login1.

 

again Press WinKey + R to open the Run window

 

type: %appdata% and press Enter

 

appdatait.PNG

 

Now try renaming folder "Skype" to "Old_Skype"

 

Then run Skype.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6475
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 4 of 16 (4,212 Views)

Re: Skype does not load home screen

Thanks again.

 

Run cleaning manager utility: check
Proxy setting: check, auto detect setting is enabled
Skype reset: check
WinKey + R: changed login to login1
Winkey + R: tried to change Skype to Old_Skype, only I'm not authorized to do this? (althought I have admin rights)

PatrickNijhof
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 24-01-2013
Message 5 of 16 (4,206 Views)

Re: Skype does not load home screen

You have to Quit Skype application to renaming the folder.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6475
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 6 of 16 (4,202 Views)

Re: Skype does not load home screen

I've tried the last action one more time and now it works.

Is see the home screen now.

 

Thank you very much for your help!

 

Greeting from Holland.

PatrickNijhof
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 24-01-2013
Message 7 of 16 (4,202 Views)

Re: Skype does not load home screen

You are very welcome.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6475
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 8 of 16 (4,200 Views)

Re: Skype does not load home screen

At last!  Skype Desktop hasn't worked all year on my Windows8 laptop.   From new the problem has been that once Skype starts if I touch anything (even volume level) then it just hangs.  Even if you close Skype it still shows in Task Manager as 'not responding'.     After  many updates and uninstall and reinstall procedures I hoped the 8.1 update and bug fixes would fix it but actually got worse because Skype would never finish loading the home page.  Now all seems good and operating the way it did on Win7. Thanks.

 

PeteDaikon
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 20-12-2013
Message 9 of 16 (1,485 Views)

Re: Skype does not load home screen

Hey man, thanks! It kind of worked for me too! It got rid of the facebook stuff for me, although I still cannot seem to open Home...
But I have a question. What to do with the created folders? Just leave them there or should I delete them?

JandeV
Casual Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 22-12-2013
Message 10 of 16 (1,457 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling