Skype changing how phone numbers are displayed on ...

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Accepted Solution

Skype changing how phone numbers are displayed on webpages

I find the automatic conversion of any phone number appearing on a webpage into a Skype action bar to be extremely annoying. As a web designer, I find it unacceptable, because it messes with my layout, and I can't see what "non-Skype" people see.

I hope that there is some way of telling it to stop doing this, or I will be forced to uninstall Skype on my main work computer. Please let me know how to stop it. Thank you.

wickenden
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Message 1 of 10 (2,796 Views)

Re: Skype changing how phone numbers are displayed on webpages

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 7415
Message 2 of 10 (2,769 Views)

Thank you, that fixed it!

wickenden
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Message 3 of 10 (2,760 Views)

Really appreciate this concise and correct solution.
W2_Insight
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Message 4 of 10 (2,431 Views)

[ Edited ]

The solution posted here removes the skype number formatting only on that specific machine where you have removed the skype toolbar. However, other people who visit your website will have the skype formatted number (if they are skype users who didn't uninstall the toolbar).

To solve this without un-installing the toolbar, just add this meta tag to the head section of your web page. It basically tells skype toolbar not to format any numbers

<meta name="SKYPE_TOOLBAR" content="SKYPE_TOOLBAR_PARSER_COMPATIBLE" />

I found this solution long time ago when I had this issue and it worked for me. Hope this helps!

Mohamed Elgharabawy

http://itscoding.com

itscoding
Casual Tourist
Message 5 of 10 (2,082 Views)

Doesn't work for me sadly, I think that meta tag has been usurped! Skypes insideous nature will not go UNCHECKED! I will be back with a better solution hopefully when I have found one.