New Skype asking for country code/name on nearly e...

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!

New Skype asking for country code/name on nearly every call -- can I make a country my default?

[ Edited ]

Hi all -- I have been using Skype for about 6 months to make almost all my calls in the U.S. I recently installed the newest version of the Skype software, and now before I can call nearly all of my contacts  Skype asks me for the country code/name before it will dial the #.  Annoying to say the least -- never asked for this before.  Is there anyway to set a particular country code as my default for ALL my calls?  Help please.

Heeb
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 3
Message 1 of 29 (14,842 Views)

Re: New Skype asking for country code/name on nearly every call -- can I make a country my default?

I'm having the same problem...must choose country code on all calls including frequently dialed numbers...anybody have a solution??

edcroninlasnek
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 2
Message 2 of 29 (14,799 Views)

Re: New Skype asking for country code/name on nearly every call -- can I make a country my default?

Add the telephone numbers as contact numbers and you can also enter a leading + in front of numbers you enter manually and then enter the country code, area code and number

TheUberOverLord
Aviator
Kudos: 1614
Message 3 of 29 (14,795 Views)

Are you saying that I should do this manually for each of my contacts in Outlook?  I would like to avoid having to do that if at all possible -- I have some 2000+ contacts.  My preference would be to change a single setting so that Skype assumes that my default country name/code is my home country -- literally 100% of my calls are to US phones. Do you know what change Skype made in the software that now requires that I give the country name/code -- never happened before?

Heeb
Casual Adventurer
Message 4 of 29 (14,791 Views)

[ Edited ]