Microphone does not work in Windows 7 64 bit

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Reply

Microphone does not work in Windows 7 64 bit

I need help very badly with microphone not working on Win 7 64 bit. I see many people are having the same problem. Any solution to this problem? Dpalmagra.

dpalmagra
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 24-11-2011
Message 1 of 8 (5,396 Views)

Re: Microphone does not work in Windows 7 64 bit

Go to Tools -> Options -> Audio settings. What options do you see there for the Microphone?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 7415
Posts: 36807
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 8 (5,280 Views)

Re: Microphone does not work in Windows 7 64 bit

I see Microphone/Line In (IDT High Definition Audio CODEC)

dpalmagra
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 24-11-2011
Message 3 of 8 (5,266 Views)

Re: Microphone does not work in Windows 7 64 bit

Microphone/Line In (IDT High Definition Audio CODEC)

dpalmagra
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 24-11-2011
Message 4 of 8 (5,265 Views)

Re: Microphone does not work in Windows 7 64 bit

If you go to Sound Control Panel – Recording devices, do you also see Line In (IDT High Definition Audio CODEC) as the active microphone selection?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 7415
Posts: 36807
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 5 of 8 (5,260 Views)

Microphone (High definition audio device)

 
vefroese
Casual Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 26-01-2012
Message 6 of 8 (5,103 Views)

Re: Microphone does not work in Windows 7 64 bit

I am having the same problem, when I check the driver it is 32 bit not 64

Is this the problem and how do you install 64 bit?

turkeyone
Casual Tourist
Kudos: 1
Posts: 1
Registered: 13-04-2012
Message 7 of 8 (4,726 Views)

Re: Microphone does not work in Windows 7 64 bit

I just downloaded and installed the latest version of Skype.  I have a HP Pavilion laptop running Windows 7 (64 bit).  My built-in mic works in other applications, but not Skype!  I see it is selected as the audio input/mic in the Skype audio settings.  However, though I see a green arrow next to the speakers indicating they are working (and they are), I don't see one next to the mic. Thanks,

LeeJR
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 1
Posts: 1
Registered: 04-12-2012
Message 8 of 8 (3,957 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling