Getting extremely high CPU usage?

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Getting extremely high CPU usage?

So whenever I open up Skype, I always get an insane amount of CPU usage ranging from 40%-90% and then I tried turning off emoticons and timestamps and even contact list icons in case that was the reason for the high amount of CPU usage because it was loading. However, this problem did not occur before and has started occuring recently, whenever I open Skype I'll always get this huge amount of CPU usage and then about 5 minutes later it will go down and idle at usually 00-02. I'm wondering why this is happening? Can anyone help, it freezes up my computer and I can't work on anything when I need too.

Tenza
Tourist
Kudos: 7
Posts: 1
Registered: 18-09-2013
Message 1 of 165 (33,624 Views)

Re: Getting extremely high CPU usage?

Hello, same problem here since this Monday. :sad:

ondrej-k
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 2
Posts: 2
Registered: 18-09-2013
Message 2 of 165 (33,579 Views)

Re: Getting extremely high CPU usage?

I must say that i have same problem, pc running woth no problems, then skype turned on and total laggy everythink apeared

dakar011
Casual Tourist
Kudos: 2
Posts: 1
Registered: 18-09-2013
Message 3 of 165 (33,568 Views)

Re: Getting extremely high CPU usage?

[ Edited ]

Same here... 5 min of pratically frozen pc when starting Skype, since a recent update 3 weeks ago.

Nothing changed in this most recent update (yesterday)... still the same problem.

0 Kudos
Edu_SC
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 4
Posts: 3
Registered: 10-10-2013
Message 4 of 165 (33,472 Views)

Re: Getting extremely high CPU usage?

Just installed an old version that I had here (5.8.32.15:cool: and everything is working fine...

0% to 1% CPU usage most of the time, and pretty fast even during start up.

 

What is Microsoft doing with Skype??

Also the Android app is much worse in the latest versions... lots of people complaining.

 

Shame on you, Microsoft :/

Edu_SC
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 4
Posts: 3
Registered: 10-10-2013
Message 5 of 165 (33,466 Views)

Re: Getting extremely high CPU usage?

Got the same problem :sad: One of the cores of my Core2Duo E8400 is totally maxing out for aprox. 4-5 min. every time I open Skype.

 

The problem was there in the last version, and it's still there in the new version 6.9.0.106 that I've just installed :sad:

 

2-3 weeks ago I prevented Skype from stating with Windows because of that, but had hoped that they had solved the problem in the new version.

 

Running Win XP on a Core2Duo E8400 4 GB ram+ 4 GB ram-disk. 256 GB SSD, That normally runs smooth.

 

T_TheDane

 

 

T_TheDane
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 6
Posts: 3
Registered: 11-10-2013
Message 6 of 165 (33,444 Views)

Re: Getting extremely high CPU usage?

Even if you don't use Internet Explorer, Skype does.  Any browser including IE can eat up a lot of resources when initially launched due to 3rd party plug-ins, you might try resetting your IE settings in Internet options to drop any 3rd party add-ons that could be slowing things down.  If it is caused by Skype Click to Call, you might consider uninstalling that as well from "Programs and Features" or "Add/Remove Programs".  Skype running in compatibility mode can cause this as well so make sure your Skype shortcut is not running in compatibility mode.  Other times issues can exist in your config.xml (%appdata%\Skype\ then YourSkypeName) or shared.xml (%appdata%\Skype).

techfreak
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 1457
Posts: 5453
Registered: 30-11-2012
Message 7 of 165 (33,436 Views)

Re: Getting extremely high CPU usage?

The same problem here :sad:

0 Kudos
plasticboy18
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 30-10-2013
Message 8 of 165 (33,028 Views)

Re: Getting extremely high CPU usage?

I have the same problem now, and I'm currently using version 6.10.0.104.

0 Kudos
Tessums
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Posts: 3
Registered: 04-11-2013
Message 9 of 165 (32,557 Views)

Re: Getting extremely high CPU usage?

Same here, just started recently I usually idle about 25-26C, as soon as I boot up skype it shoots up to 29-30C...there is no way an application like skype should cause an increase in temps like that, looked at the CPU usage and im geting 25%-50% just letting it sit there, not making calls, not even typing, this is just with the program open. I run games that dont heat up or use the CPU that much. this is just outrageous. 

0 Kudos
SolarisTiger
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 04-11-2013
Message 10 of 165 (32,531 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling