GetLogicalProcessorInformation fatal error

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Reply

GetLogicalProcessorInformation fatal error

[ Edited ]

Hi ,

after the latest update, skype no longer works on my desktop (on the iphone it's fine)

I have IE8 , also tried to install it again, but nothing.

When I try to open skype  I get a "fatal error" pop up

Please help

 

daniapo
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-10-2013
Message 1 of 8 (671 Views)

Re: Problem skype


daniapo wrote:

Hi ,

after the latest update, skype no longer works on my desktop (on the iphone it's fine)

I have IE8 , also tried to install it again, but nothing.

When I try to open skype  I get a "fatal error" pop up

Please help

 


What exactly is the "fatal error" saying?

Do you have Service Pack 3 installed?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 7365
Posts: 36665
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 8 (663 Views)

Re: Problem skype

It says  " Failed ti get proc address for GetLogicalProcessorInformation (kernel 32.dll)

daniapo
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-10-2013
Message 3 of 8 (650 Views)

Re: Problem skype

I just found out that I may not be able to install SP3 because  I'm on a 32 bit

is it correct?
 then I can no longer  use skype on my desktop??

 

daniapo
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-10-2013
Message 4 of 8 (647 Views)

Re: Problem skype

[ Edited ]

daniapo wrote:

I just found out that I may not be able to install SP3 because  I'm on a 32 bit

is it correct?
 then I can no longer  use skype on my desktop??

 


No, this is not correct. You can install SP3 on 32-bit Windows XP.

 

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/help/learn-how-to-install-windows-xp-service-pack-3-sp3

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 7365
Posts: 36665
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 5 of 8 (644 Views)

Re: Problem skype

I followed the instruciton to install  SP3 but it didin't work

Is there a way I can install the previous version  of Skype?

 

daniapo
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-10-2013
Message 6 of 8 (621 Views)

Re: Problem skype


daniapo wrote:

I followed the instruciton to install  SP3 but it didin't work

Is there a way I can install the previous version  of Skype?

 


The last version that may work without SP3 installed is 6.6.0.106.

 

http://download.skype.com/msi/SkypeSetup_6.6.0.106.msi

 

 

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 7365
Posts: 36665
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 7 of 8 (618 Views)

Re: GetLogicalProcessorInformation fatal error

ooo

 

mimija13
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 22-02-2014
Message 8 of 8 (177 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling