Contact Not Showing as Online

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Contact Not Showing as Online

I'm totally new at Skype so this might have been posted before but I can't seem to find it on the forums.

I'm trying to call from my laptop which is running Windows XP. (Sounds old, but it's still a great laptop and runs quick.) I'm in South Korea and am trying to make a call to an LG G2X that is in the US. I have great internet and the mobile phone I'm calling has an unlimited data plan for minutes and web. I have the 5.5 version of Skype and the other person has just installed Skype about 2 days ago with the latest version on Android.

My problem is that they are showing up as offline in my contacts when I'm signed onto my laptop and I am showing up as offline to them when they are signed in on their mobile phone. What is the problem here? It's really frustrating that I can't even make a simple Skype call when we are both online but show each other as offline through our screens. Can anyone please let me? Thanks!

atkd08
Casual Tourist
Kudos: 2
Message 1 of 22 (46,886 Views)

Re: Contact Not Showing as Online

atkd08 wrote:

I'm totally new at Skype so this might have been posted before but I can't seem to find it on the forums.

I'm trying to call from my laptop which is running Windows XP. (Sounds old, but it's still a great laptop and runs quick.) I'm in South Korea and am trying to make a call to an LG G2X that is in the US. I have great internet and the mobile phone I'm calling has an unlimited data plan for minutes and web. I have the 5.5 version of Skype and the other person has just installed Skype about 2 days ago with the latest version on Android.