Re: Can't launch skype

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Reply
Accepted Solution

Can't launch skype

I have downloaded the newest version of skype. But when I try to run the skype set up it doesn't fully work. It gets to the part where it opens skype and it just turns black and says it cannot connect. Someone please help!

~Thanks :happy:

Tamim
Super Aviator

Accepted Solution

Try this.

 

Exit Skype: From the system tray >> right click on the Skype icon and click "Quit Skype"

 

Click Start >> Run Type: %programdata%\Skype\Apps

 

Rename the folder login to login1

 

Then go to Skype folder inside program files(x86) and go to phone folder and then right click on Skype application and select send to Desktop (Create shortcut)

 

Re-run skype using this new shortcut.

View solution in original post
klo1822
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-08-2012
Message 1 of 53 (1,707 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

Does this happens after you have entered your login credentials or are you just getting a blank login window?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6606
Posts: 39521
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 53 (1,693 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

[ Edited ]

Please answer all of the following questions in your very next reply:

 

Are you running the 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows?
Which version of Internet Explorer installed on your PC?
What anti-virus application or security suite is installed?

 

Try to reinstall Skype with this link: 

http://download.skype.com/msi/SkypeSetup_5.10.0.116.msi

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6954
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 3 of 53 (1,685 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

1)Are you running the 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows? 64-bit

 

2)Which version of Internet Explorer installed on your PC? I have no clue, but i use gooogle chrome!

 

3)What anti-virus application or security suite is installed? norton, McAfee

klo1822
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-08-2012
Message 4 of 53 (1,674 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

Try to temporary disable Norton, McAfee and then reinstall skype.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6954
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 5 of 53 (1,671 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

how do i do that? :sad:

klo1822
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-08-2012
Message 6 of 53 (1,665 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

In the system tray look for a norton sign

right-click it >> choose "Disable Auto-Protect."

 

In the system tray open McAfeeSecurityCenter

Click Virus and Spyware Protection

Click Real-Time Scanning

 

Turn off and select a duration of 2-5 hours

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6954
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 7 of 53 (1,653 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

I did all of this, but when I try to download it says it can't connect to skype download server.

 

klo1822
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-08-2012
Message 8 of 53 (1,642 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

have you tried to re-install with this link?

http://download.skype.com/msi/SkypeSetup_5.10.0.116.msi
Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6954
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 9 of 53 (1,635 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

I tried this, but then it says A network error occurred while attempting to read from the file: C;\Users\Tyler\Downloads\Skype.msi

 

klo1822
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-08-2012
Message 10 of 53 (1,629 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling