Re: skype 5.5 and 5.7 beta both hang on sign in wi...

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply

skype 5.5 and 5.7 beta both hang on sign in with 40 to 50% cpu

I have windows XP with 1.66 GHz

I could use skype previously. But now cannot. I have tried both 5.5 and 5.7. I can use my id on another laptop fine. 

Any suggestions? thanks

JohnEuro
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 10
Registered: 24-12-2011
Message 1 of 20 (826 Views)

Re: skype 5.5 and 5.7 beta both hang on sign in with 40 to 50% cpu

Try with disabled antivirus and/or firewall.

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6606
Posts: 39521
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 20 (622 Views)

Re: skype 5.5 and 5.7 beta both hang on sign in with 40 to 50% cpu

Yes tried minus anti-virus and firewall - no change

 

I have the same AVG on both laptops and it was working with avg and firewall previously

JohnEuro
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 10
Registered: 24-12-2011
Message 3 of 20 (615 Views)

Re: skype 5.5 and 5.7 beta both hang on sign in with 40 to 50% cpu

Try to reset all local Skype settings.

 

Quit Skype or use Windows task Manager to kill any Skype.exe process. Go to Windows Start and in the Run box type %appdata%, press Ok button. The Windows File Explorer will popup. Locate there a folder with the name Skype. Rename this folder to something different, e.g. Skype_old. Restart Skype.

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6606
Posts: 39521
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 4 of 20 (609 Views)

Re: skype 5.5 and 5.7 beta both hang on sign in with 40 to 50% cpu

 
sultan242
Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 28-12-2011
Message 5 of 20 (606 Views)

Re: skype 5.5 and 5.7 beta both hang on sign in with 40 to 50% cpu

thank u so much finally it works I have waited for a week for an answer to this :bigsmile: thank u!!!!!!!!!!!

babyapa
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 6
Registered: 23-12-2011
Message 6 of 20 (596 Views)

Re: skype 5.5 and 5.7 beta both hang on sign in with 40 to 50% cpu

killed skype.exe, renamed folder

opened again, it re-created folder but cpu remains at 40%+

 

I've also got a SkypePM at the same level - so I renamed that - it was not recreated.

 

In both cases, the sign me in sceen appears ok, but as soon as I enter a character in the user name, the cpu goes up

JohnEuro
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 10
Registered: 24-12-2011
Message 7 of 20 (591 Views)

Re: skype 5.5 and 5.7 beta both hang on sign in with 40 to 50% cpu


JohnEuro wrote:

killed skype.exe, renamed folder

opened again, it re-created folder but cpu remains at 40%+

 

I've also got a SkypePM at the same level - so I renamed that - it was not recreated.

 

In both cases, the sign me in sceen appears ok, but as soon as I enter a character in the user name, the cpu goes up


Are you using any Skype plugins (Extras)? If you open your Task Manager (Ctrl+Shift+Esc) -> Processes tab, is it Skype.exe that is using the 40-50% CPU or are there any other processes using the CPU?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6606
Posts: 39521
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 8 of 20 (584 Views)

Re: skype 5.5 and 5.7 beta both hang on sign in with 40 to 50% cpu

Hi 

 

I am not using any add ins. 

 

Attached is screen dump of skype before (top 2 windows) and after (bottom two)

1) skype sign in window open - cpu at 6%

2) I enter a character in the user id - cpu at 95% - skype showing 44%, system and svchost the remaining %

 

Taskbar showing multiple skypes - I believe is a red herring - mouse over them and they disappear

JohnEuro
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 10
Registered: 24-12-2011
Message 9 of 20 (568 Views)

Re: skype 5.5 and 5.7 beta both hang on sign in with 40 to 50% cpu

It appears that ToolbarUpdater.exe (belongs to AVG) is running all the time. Even though it only consumes 2-5% CPU, it may cause problem for other processes. Try to kill this process before starting Skype.

 

Do you have Skype’s Click to Call toolbar add-on for Chrome installed?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6606
Posts: 39521
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 10 of 20 (558 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling