"Skype has stopped working" on start up of skype

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply
Accepted Solution

"Skype has stopped working" on start up of skype

(Skype 5.1)I've tried to uninstall, and do everything. Downloaded skype 5.11, and it didn't work either. I currently have skype 5.11 installed. Please help 

This widget could not be displayed.
Tamim
Super Aviator

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

Run the SFC /scannow command with ADMIN rights.

 

a)     Click Start.

b)     In the search box type cmd

c)     Right click and select Run as administrator.

d)     Type SFC /scannow and press ENTER.

  

Restart your PC.

 

Now try register jscript9.dll

 

a)     Click Start.

b)     In the search box type cmd

c)     Right click and select Run as administrator.

d)     Type the following commands and press ENTER.

 

cd\

cd windows\SysWOW64

regsvr32.exe jscript9.dll

 

Restart your PC.

 

Now try running Skype.

View solution in original post
Finnchbro
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 20-09-2012
Message 1 of 7 (2,210 Views)

Re: "Skype has stopped working" on start up of skype

Please post event viewer log in your very next reply.

Click Start >> Run >> Type eventvwr.msc /s
Custom Views >> Administrative Events
Look for any error message related to Skype crash.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6481
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 2 of 7 (2,203 Views)

Re: "Skype has stopped working" on start up of skype

Faulting application name: Skype.exe, version: 5.11.0.102, time stamp: 0x504e2a28
Faulting module name: jscript9.dll, version: 9.0.8112.16448, time stamp: 0x4fecf3f0
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000db08a
Faulting process id: 0xf3c
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd96d2553b8b91
Faulting application path: I:\DEFAULT DOWNLOADING SPOT\Skype\Phone\Skype.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\jscript9.dll
Report Id: 952c0417-02c5-11e2-9f54-20cf30cc49c1
Finnchbro
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 20-09-2012
Message 3 of 7 (2,201 Views)

Re: "Skype has stopped working" on start up of skype

Run the SFC /scannow command with ADMIN rights.

 

a)     Click Start.

b)     In the search box type cmd

c)     Right click and select Run as administrator.

d)     Type SFC /scannow and press ENTER.

  

Restart your PC.

 

Now try register jscript9.dll

 

a)     Click Start.

b)     In the search box type cmd

c)     Right click and select Run as administrator.

d)     Type the following commands and press ENTER.

 

cd\

cd windows\SysWOW64

regsvr32.exe jscript9.dll

 

Restart your PC.

 

Now try running Skype.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6481
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 4 of 7 (2,192 Views)

Re: "Skype has stopped working" on start up of skype

Genius, thank you.
Finnchbro
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 20-09-2012
Message 5 of 7 (2,181 Views)

Re: "Skype has stopped working" on start up of skype

You are very welcome.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6481
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 6 of 7 (2,180 Views)

Re: Skype Credit

I purchased Skype Credit with my Credit card and when I try using Skype on my phone, it tells me i have no credit

Outpatients
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 20-09-2012
Message 7 of 7 (1,876 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling