"Skype Can't Connect" Issue

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply

Re: "Skype Can't Connect" Issue


mpsawchuk wrote:

I am running version 5.9.0.123 and am seriously wondering if there's a virus or something messing around with the installer.  I've done the steps described above including uninstalling and re-installing along with renaming the skype folder.  This is even more frustrating overseas where I can't just jack-in to a 10/100 port! I am sitting in a lounge with a half dozen other users who are having no problems with their skype so what gives??? Any help, post back!

Domo Arigato


What Firewall and Antivirus applications are installed on your computer?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6938
Posts: 44245
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 11 of 27 (3,239 Views)

Re: "Skype Can't Connect" Issue

I am having the same problem for the past week. please help. whenever i try to log in i get the "skype can't connect" message.
hopeless_soul
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 12-06-2012
Message 12 of 27 (3,235 Views)

Re: "Skype Can't Connect" Issue

[ Edited ]

My laptop is protected by McAfee personal firewall..Skype is showing the same issue as mentioned earlier, skype version is 5.9.0.123

vasuart
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: 12-06-2012
Message 13 of 27 (3,231 Views)

Re: "Skype Can't Connect" Issue


vasuart wrote:

My laptop is protected by McAfee personal firewall..Skype is showing the same issue as mentioned earlier, skype version is 5.9.0.123


You need to configure this McAfee’s Firewall to allow Skype traffic or completely disable it.

 

https://community.mcafee.com/thread/37324

 

Here are just some recent examples of cases related to McAfee (there are many more!)

 

http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows/Skype-Can-t-Connect/m-p/781634/highlight/true#M58850

 

http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows/Skype-can-t-connect-error-message/m-p/780864/highlight/true#M5...

 

 

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6938
Posts: 44245
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 14 of 27 (3,221 Views)

Re: "Skype Can't Connect" Issue

[ Edited ]

hello,

 

this problem is arised after i made updation to newer version of skype,

i made the changes as mentioned in mcafee forum..still the problem occurs,

while skype was working fine in morning, how and why it stopped connecting now?

please help me to sort it out asap.

vasuart
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: 12-06-2012
Message 15 of 27 (3,215 Views)

Re: "Skype Can't Connect" Issue


vasuart wrote:

hello,

 

this problem is arised after i made updation to newer version of skype,

i made the changes as mentioned in mcafee forum..still the problem occurs,

while skype was working fine in morning, how and why it stopped connecting now?

please help me to sort it out asap.


Try to reset all Skype settings, but it must also be necessary totally to uninstall McAfee's Firewall. Windows standard Firewall should be enough to protect your computer.

 

Quit Skype or use Windows Task Manager to kill any Skype.exe process. Go to Windows Start and in the Search/Run box type %appdata%, press Enter or click the OK button. The Windows File Explorer will pop up. There locate a folder named “Skype”. Rename this folder to something different, e.g. Skype_old. Restart Skype.

 

N.B. If needed, you will still be able to re-establish your call and chat history. All data is still saved in the Skype_old folder.

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6938
Posts: 44245
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 16 of 27 (3,199 Views)

Re: "Skype Can't Connect" Issue

hello,

 

Today i could able to login,i reverted back the changes, my mcafee personal firwall is ON. skype is working..

thanks for support

vasuart
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: 12-06-2012
Message 17 of 27 (3,159 Views)

Re: "Skype Can't Connect" Issue

I may have to take back my words, it is not connecting now.

giving same "skype can't connect" issue

please look in to it

vasuart
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: 12-06-2012
Message 18 of 27 (3,146 Views)

Re: "Skype Can't Connect" Issue


vasuart wrote:

I may have to take back my words, it is not connecting now.

giving same "skype can't connect" issue

please look in to it


What happens if you turn McAfee's Forewall OFF?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6938
Posts: 44245
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 19 of 27 (3,144 Views)

Re: "Skype Can't Connect" Issue

i turn off mcafee firewall--restarted--checked the firewall status, then signed in, it still shows skype cant connect message.
i request you to provide earlier version of skype which doesnt face problem or sort it out why firewall is stopping to sign in.
vasuart
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: 12-06-2012
Message 20 of 27 (3,115 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling