"Entry Point not found" error message

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply
Accepted Solution

"Entry Point not found" error message

[ Edited ]

Have downloaded latest version of Skype & am a new user.

 

When I try to access Skype I get a message saying:-

 

The procedure entry point NtAlpc SendWaitReceivePort could not be located in the dynamic link library ntdll.dll.

 

When pressin OK Skype loads .

 

I have removed Skype & downloaded again but still have problem

Please help.

This widget could not be displayed.
Claudius
Community Manager

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

Samsung today issued an update for their KIES software to version 2.3.2.12704_13 that fixes this incompatibility. KIES should be automatically updated when starting it.

View solution in original post
sunlover
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-06-2012
Message 1 of 19 (42,633 Views)

Re: ntry Point not found

The problem is not in Skype but with some other applications installed on your computer. See e.g.  this

 

http://forum.renoise.com/index.php?/topic/31412-solved-ntdlldll-ntalpcsendwaitreceiveport-error-on-startup/

 

Do you have installed the Kies software for Samsung phones?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6969
Posts: 44331
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 19 (42,629 Views)

Re: ntry Point not found

Thanks for that info.

I renamed the file & now all ok.

Samsung KIES have a lot to answer for to cause this problem

sunlover
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-06-2012
Message 3 of 19 (42,620 Views)

Re: ntry Point not found

Hello

 

In your message, you indicate that you found the solution on the error message, but unfortunaltely I cannot find it from the differents links provided (sorry but i am not a super user of computer).

 

can you provide me a short explanation of what need to be done to fix this problem...(renaming some kind of files in kies!)

 

thanks

dxlga
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 23-06-2012
Message 4 of 19 (42,472 Views)

Re: ntry Point not found

The solution is provided in this article:

 

http://forum.renoise.com/index.php?/topic/31412-solved-ntdlldll-ntalpcsendwaitreceiveport-error-on-startup/

 

Look for the post of Ragamuffa.:

 

 “The problem seems to be caused by the avrt.dll that Kies put in the Windows\System32 folder.

Simply renaming the file stopped the annoying pop-ups to appear all the time. Worked for me at least in Windows XP SP3.”

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6969
Posts: 44331
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 5 of 19 (42,469 Views)

Re: ntry Point not found

hello again

 

the solution to the problem seem to be renaming the avrt.dll file in windows...

 

when you rename the file... what should be the renamed file ? I"ve tried to use the same name (avrt.dll) but did not worked

 

thanks

dxlga
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 23-06-2012
Message 6 of 19 (42,452 Views)

Re: ntry Point not found

I changed it to temp.dll

sunlover
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-06-2012
Message 7 of 19 (42,446 Views)

Re: ntry Point not found

Thank you so much fixed avrt.dll problem

karlhank
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 03-07-2012
Message 8 of 19 (41,738 Views)

Re: ntry Point not found

Just to say that I had exactly the same problem; for the same reason (Samsung Kies); and solved it in exactly the same way. I used Search to find the offending file (avrt.dll), changed its name, and bingo!

Thank you so much for this information and help.
GBReid
Casual Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 09-07-2012
Message 9 of 19 (41,298 Views)

Re: ntry Point not found

[ Edited ]

Got the same message after being forced to upgrade skype.

 

So now i'm forced to disable my 6 month old phones software, because MS/skype changed/upgraded their software ? ... SWEET

 

Personally, if i had to guess, i'm betting this is just a first step towards a process of forcing or trying to force XP users to upgrade their OS if they want to use skype.

 

It happened with MS messenger, the latest version of messenger wont work on XP. Im sure MS wanted this to happen.

 

another nail in skype's coffin .

 

Edit

 

PS if i'm forced to change anything, i'll downgrade skype , or remove it for other software first...

tinsoldier_o0o
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 11-08-2011
Message 10 of 19 (40,297 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling