new sign-in for Microsoft does not appear

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply

new sign-in for Microsoft does not appear

I 'upgraded' my MSN Messanger to Skype and then downloaded the new version of Skype; however, when the sign-in box comes up, it is the same box and does not give me the option to sign in with my MSN ID, so I cannot get to my MSN at all anymore.

 

Do you have any suggestions on how to fix this???  Thank you!

1mischiefmaker
Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 27-01-2013
Message 1 of 5 (142 Views)

Re: new sign-in for Microsoft does not appear

I am having the exact same problem. I 'upgraded' my MSN to SKYPE. I tried using the 'sign in using your MSN account' button and all that happens is that it freezes and locks me out to the point I have to delete it and reinstal SKYPE all over again! Please help me too!!! :sad:
anjelt
Casual Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 27-01-2013
Message 2 of 5 (134 Views)

Re: new sign-in for Microsoft does not appear


1mischiefmaker wrote:

I 'upgraded' my MSN Messanger to Skype and then downloaded the new version of Skype; however, when the sign-in box comes up, it is the same box and does not give me the option to sign in with my MSN ID, so I cannot get to my MSN at all anymore.

 

Do you have any suggestions on how to fix this???  Thank you!


Please, answer first these questions:

 

What version of Windows are you on (XP, Vista, Windows 7)? Is it 32-bit or 64-bit?

 

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/827218

 

What is the version of Internet Explorer installed on your computer?

 

In Internet Explorer go to Help -> About Internet Explorer.

 

Make the test showing if your Internet Explorer can execute JavaScript.

 

Open in your Internet Explorer (no other browser but only IE 32-bit version) this page:

 

http://www.mistered.us/test/alert.shtml

 

Click on the “Simply Click This Button” button and watch the response.

 

P.S. Please, don’t say that you are not using Internet Explorer. This is irrelevant. Skype depends on Internet Explorer.

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6002
Posts: 41972
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 3 of 5 (127 Views)

Re: new sign-in for Microsoft does not appear

anjelt,

 

Try Below:

 

Reset IE.

 

Press WinKey + R to open the Run window

WinKey (the button is located between the left Ctrl and Alt with the Windows logo)

 

winkey1.png

 

Type: iexplore.exe and press Enter

 

In IE, Click Internet Options >> Advanced >> Restore Advanced Settings >> Reset.

Mark Delete personal settings >> OK >> restart.

 

Please Run the Cleaning Manager Utility

 

Press WinKey + R to open the Run window

 

type: cleanmgr tuneup and press Enter

select the Temp Internet Files boxes and click OK, then Click Delete files.

 

Now Check Proxy settings

 

In Internet Explorer, Go to, Tools >> Internet Options... >> Connections>> Lan settings , Use a proxy server... if it had been ticked, then... Remove that check. Make sure automatically detect settings is enabled. (Marked)

 

ieproxy.PNG

 

Please Do a Skype Reset.

 

Exit Skype : From the system tray >> right click on the skype icon and click "Quit"

 

esci da skype.PNG

 

Press WinKey + R to open the Run window

 

type: %programdata%\Skype\Apps and press Enter

 

programdata.PNG

 

Rename the folder login to login1.

 

again Press WinKey + R to open the Run window

 

type: %appdata% and press Enter

 

appdatait.PNG

 

Now try renaming folder "Skype" to "Old_Skype"

 

Then run Skype.

 

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6078
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 4 of 5 (120 Views)

Re: new sign-in for Microsoft does not appear

1mischiefmaker,

 

Please check this KB article first.

 

Is my PC running the 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows?

 

Then try to re-register library files.

 

PC is running the 64-bit version of Windows

 

a)     Click Start.

b)     In the search box type cmd

c)     Right click on cmd and select Run as administrator.

d)     Type the following commands and press ENTER.

 

cd\

cd windows\SysWOW64

regsvr32 jscript.dll

regsvr32 vbscript.dll

regsvr32 jscript9.dll

 

Restart your PC.

 

PC is running the 32-bit version of Windows

 

a)     Click Start.

b)     In the search box type cmd

c)     Right click on cmd and select Run as administrator.

d)     Type the following commands and press ENTER.

 

regsvr32 jscript.dll

regsvr32 vbscript.dll

regsvr32 jscript9.dll

 

Restart your PC.

 

Please note that, there is a space after regsvr32 and jscript9.dll is for IE9 / IE 10 version.

 

Which version of Internet Explorer am I using?

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6078
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 5 of 5 (116 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling