main.corrupt file; how to repair it??

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply
Accepted Solution

main.corrupt file; how to repair it??

Hi

I got a problem with the "main" file : it has become corrupted around one month ago :I have now in my username folder 2 "main" files: one which is working fine with the info about my last one month  chat history and a second file, a main.corrupt file, with all the info about my previous 3-4 years of chat.
Is there a way I can fix this corrupt file?? I don't care about my new main file.
In the chatsync folder there are still all the info about my 3-4 years of chat history.
Do you know any programs which can fix this main.corrupt file? 
I tried to contact skype customer service but they don't know anything...so sad!
 
It would be amazing solving this issue!
 
Thanks a lot!
 

Giulio

This widget could not be displayed.
Tamim
Super Aviator

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

0 Kudos

don't need to repair the file

simply rename the main.corrupt to main.db

 

here is a tiny program

SkypeLogView

nirsoft.net/utils/skype_log_view.html

View solution in original post
This widget could not be displayed.
ruwim
Community Ambassador

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

0 Kudos

See this Jira case on a similar issue.

 

https://jira.skype.com/browse/SCW-3775

 

View solution in original post
This widget could not be displayed.
Tamim
Super Aviator

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

0 Kudos

What happen when you are trying to copy the main.db file?

Do you receive any error code / messages?

try to boot your computer to Safe Mode and then try copying the file.

View solution in original post
This widget could not be displayed.
Tamim
Super Aviator

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

0 Kudos

From a run box type 'msconfig' and select the Startup Tab. You can uncheck the applications you wish to stop from loading with windows.

 

msconfig.PNG

 

msconfigdisablenonm$.PNG

 

Run the chkdsk command with ADMIN rights.

 

a)     Click Start.

b)     In the search box type cmd

c)     Right click and select Run as administrator.

d)     Type chkdsk /f /r /x /b C: and press ENTER. (Assume that your main.db file is located in C drive.)

e)     Type y and press ENTER.

  

Restart your PC in Safe Mode With Networking.

 

Now try copying the file.

View solution in original post
cattajulio
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 06-09-2012
Message 1 of 13 (4,123 Views)

Re: main.corrupt file; how to repair it??

[ Edited ]

don't need to repair the file

simply rename the main.corrupt to main.db

 

here is a tiny program

SkypeLogView

nirsoft.net/utils/skype_log_view.html

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6097
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 2 of 13 (4,109 Views)

Re: main.corrupt file; how to repair it??

See this Jira case on a similar issue.

 

https://jira.skype.com/browse/SCW-3775

 

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6078
Posts: 42020
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 3 of 13 (4,098 Views)

Re: main.corrupt file; how to repair it??

Thanks Tamim,

 

I renamed the file  main.corrupt to main.db and the whole chat history reappeared (even if the main.corrupt file didn't have the info of the last 2 months in which I got a new main file working...)

I have an other issue now: I'd like to copy/save this main.db file in the case something happen again in the future or if I need to format my computer: I can't copy this main.db file even when skype is not running...

How can I copy it??

Thanks

 

 

 

cattajulio
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 06-09-2012
Message 4 of 13 (4,061 Views)

Re: main.corrupt file; how to repair it??

What happen when you are trying to copy the main.db file?

Do you receive any error code / messages?

try to boot your computer to Safe Mode and then try copying the file.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6097
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 5 of 13 (4,053 Views)

Re: main.corrupt file; how to repair it??

I tried to copy this main.db file also in safe mode but I got the same error:

0x8007045D (The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error)

 

cattajulio
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 06-09-2012
Message 6 of 13 (3,900 Views)

Re: main.corrupt file; how to repair it??

From a run box type 'msconfig' and select the Startup Tab. You can uncheck the applications you wish to stop from loading with windows.

 

msconfig.PNG

 

msconfigdisablenonm$.PNG

 

Run the chkdsk command with ADMIN rights.

 

a)     Click Start.

b)     In the search box type cmd

c)     Right click and select Run as administrator.

d)     Type chkdsk /f /r /x /b C: and press ENTER. (Assume that your main.db file is located in C drive.)

e)     Type y and press ENTER.

  

Restart your PC in Safe Mode With Networking.

 

Now try copying the file.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6097
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 7 of 13 (3,891 Views)

Re: main.corrupt file; how to repair it??

Hi,

I followed what you wrote me but when I restarted my laptop in a safe mode after 2-3hours, it was kind of blocked loading a file...

so I turned the laptop off and restarted it ;I let the computer checked and repair all the files: after 3 hours of deep checking the computer finally switched on and my main.db file was working fine: now I can move it without any problems!

Giulio

cattajulio
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 06-09-2012
Message 8 of 13 (3,826 Views)

Re: main.corrupt file; how to repair it??

Glad to hear and thanks for the feedback.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6097
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 9 of 13 (3,825 Views)

Re: main.corrupt file; how to repair it??

People tell me that I have to rename the main.corrupt to main.db.

 

What do I do with the original (new) main?

 

Do I move this first or do I delete this?

 

 

michelrenirie
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 27-11-2012
Message 10 of 13 (3,577 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling