i can see the other person, but they can't see me.

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving

i can see the other person, but they can't see me.

okay, i'm new to skype and i used it for the first time yesterday. i could see my friend and hear her perfectly, and she could hear me, but said i wasn't showing up on the camera. at first i looked at the bottom tool bar and saw that i had video turned off, so i clicked it on, and i showed up...but only for about two seconds. so i turned it off and turned it back on again...again i only showed up for a few seconds.

my computer (running with windows 7) says that the camera is properly working, so i don't think it's a hardware issue, because as i said before, i show up for a second. i just don't know if it's the windows software or the skype software that's giving me trouble.

can anybody help? i REALLY want to be able to see and talk to my overseas friends!

thanks.

graybug
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Message 1 of 7 (4,576 Views)

Re: i can see the other person, but they can't see me.

Yeah, I am having a similar problem. I used skype for the first time today. I was able to see and hear my girlfriend perfectly, and she was able to her me as well. The problem is that even though my webcam was on and I was able to see myself in the little window at bottom right, she wasn't able to see me. How can I fix this problem. 

TheDrifter
Casual Tourist
Message 2 of 7 (4,244 Views)

First thing I suggest is that you make sure you and your friend both have the latest version of Skype installed.  Click on Help > About Skype to see the specific version number.  If you don't see 5.8.0.158, the version current as of today, update via this link: 

http://www.skype.com/go/getskype-full