call failed

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply

call failed

Hi Friends,

I'm living in UAE, now approximately one week is it I cannot call to phone or lanline every time getting CALL FAIELED, the number I'm dailing to was fine and it's in my contact list.

System 1

Skype version: 5.5.0.117

Windows 7 Professional

ESET Smart Security 4.2.71.2

 

System2

Skype version 5.5.0.117

Windows XP Professional

Quick Heal Total Security 12.00 (SP1)

 

any more information? please if you know help me to solve the problem.

Taha
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 9
Registered: 24-09-2011
Message 1 of 18 (6,706 Views)

Re: call failed


Taha wrote:

Hi Friends,

I'm living in UAE, now approximately one week is it I cannot call to phone or lanline every time getting CALL FAIELED, the number I'm dailing to was fine and it's in my contact list.

System 1

Skype version: 5.5.0.117

Windows 7 Professional

ESET Smart Security 4.2.71.2

 

System2

Skype version 5.5.0.117

Windows XP Professional

Quick Heal Total Security 12.00 (SP1)

 

any more information? please if you know help me to solve the problem.


If you are using Win7 Please try this:

Open Windows Event Viewer. Go to Custom Views -> Administrative Events. Look for the recent error messages. Click on any errors and post the details here if they happen at the time things fail.

Otherwise do this:

Using your Windows Control Panel:

Adminstrator Tools -> Event Viewer

Click on System and later Applications, do you see any errors logged during the times this happens, if so what errors ("If you click on the errors you can get more details and copy/paste them here")?

Also, please check times after you reboot to see if any errors are produced when you system is restarting.

Are you current with ALL Windows Updates and any Updates from your manufacturers web site for your system and any attached devices?

TheUberOverLord
Aviator
Kudos: 585
Posts: 12505
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 18 (6,699 Views)

Re: call failed

Thanks for your response, I checked in Event Viewer for both operation system there is not any error or warning message, There is not any device connected to the system and I'm updating my Operating System every day (check automatically and install recommended options)

 

Last successful call was on 20 Sep.

Taha
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 9
Registered: 24-09-2011
Message 3 of 18 (6,695 Views)

Re: call failed


Taha wrote:

Thanks for your response, I checked in Event Viewer for both operation system there is not any error or warning message, There is not any device connected to the system and I'm updating my Operating System every day (check automatically and install recommended options)

 

Last successful call was on 20 Sep.



I know that the UAE does have filters in place, from time to time. So my questions are, do Skype to Skype calls work? Are other Skype functions working? Are any other phone calls working?

 

You can try this to see if it changes anything, but would like to see your answers first, if possible:

 

In your case and your case only.

1. Please stop any and all running Skype Client programs on your system.

2. Using your Windows Control Panel Add/Remove Programs uninstall Skype, when prompted to save your history, choose yes.

3. Using Windows File Explorer ("What you use to view files with") do:

%appdata%\skype

If you find a file called shared.xml right click on it and choose delete.

4. If you see a folder for the Skype name in question, click on it, if you see a file called Config.xml right click on it and choose delete.

5. Using the Windows file Explorer enter:

NOTE: If This is a 64 bit system, please look in the program files (x86) folder

%programfiles%

Right click on the Skype folder and choose delete.

6. Please install the normal version using the instructions below:

You can install the current normal release by doing this from the top of this page:

Get Skype -> Windows -> Choose the normal release.

These instructions have worked for many and is the quickest thing to try to resolve issues such as this.

Also, what operating system are you on and do you have all Windows updates and updates to any hardware devices by the manufacturers?

TheUberOverLord
Aviator
Kudos: 585
Posts: 12505
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 4 of 18 (6,692 Views)

Re: call failed

Yes you are right, in the UAE Skype is filtered,

Yes Skype to Skype calles works and also I can called to Echo123 only problem I have with PC-to-Phone,
I reinstalled Skype but still is not working, as I mentioned earlier I'm using but Windows XP Professional and Windows 7 Professional and but of the OS are 32-bit (x86), both of them are up to date.

And also I have credit on my account. my systems are HP Desktop PC and Dell XPS M1330.

 

where can I find the older version of Skype maybe with older version it work. the currently version of Skype I'm using is ver 5.5

Taha
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 9
Registered: 24-09-2011
Message 5 of 18 (6,685 Views)

Re: call failed


Taha wrote:

Yes you are right, in the UAE Skype is filtered,

Yes Skype to Skype calles works and also I can called to Echo123 only problem I have with PC-to-Phone,
I reinstalled Skype but still is not working, as I mentioned earlier I'm using but Windows XP Professional and Windows 7 Professional and but of the OS are 32-bit (x86), both of them are up to date.

And also I have credit on my account. my systems are HP Desktop PC and Dell XPS M1330.

 

where can I find the older version of Skype maybe with older version it work. the currently version of Skype I'm using is ver 5.5



Please try this version in your case, simply install over what you have, it is version 5.3.0.120: http://skype.com/go/getskype-em

TheUberOverLord
Aviator
Kudos: 585
Posts: 12505
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 6 of 18 (6,681 Views)

Re: call failed

I tried with older version unfortuately noting chage get Call Failed, what else possibility can cause the problem?

 

I was using Facebook video call, also uninstalled that.

 

Taha
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 9
Registered: 24-09-2011
Message 7 of 18 (6,679 Views)

Re: call failed

There is any tools for troubleshooting except Call Test center?
Taha
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 9
Registered: 24-09-2011
Message 8 of 18 (6,678 Views)

Re: call failed


Taha wrote:
There is any tools for troubleshooting except Call Test center?


Currently, no.

 

Does the call fail prior to ringing, while ringing, after it is answered?

TheUberOverLord
Aviator
Kudos: 585
Posts: 12505
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 9 of 18 (6,676 Views)

Re: call failed

There is no ringing tone at all, just after few second getting the message Call Failed and saying "Call to +97150000000, no answer"
Taha
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 9
Registered: 24-09-2011
Message 10 of 18 (6,674 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling