Re: Skype won't load with Windows

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply
Accepted Solution

Skype won't load with Windows

Even though I check the option to load Skype when Windows starts it doesn't. Loading it manually shows the start with Windows option as unchecked after every reboot.
This widget could not be displayed.
7leagues
Routine Adventurer

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

I found the cause. I have an app called Soluto installed. One of its goals is to speed up boot time by allowing you to decide which of your apps should start in boot and which can be delayed or paused. I had Skype delayed and it seems that doing that undoes Skype's option to start with Windows. By returning it into boot via Soluto it now starts normally.

 

Thanks for your assistance in any event Beowolfv! :happy:

View solution in original post
7leagues
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 11
Posts: 20
Registered: 31-08-2011
Message 1 of 10 (3,199 Views)

Re: Skype won't load with Windows

Are you clicking save after you have checked the box? And depending on what anti-virus software you use, could have an effect on stopping skype from running on startup.

Regards,
Beowolfv

-If I Answered Your QuestionThenPlease Give "KUDOS" And Mark It As A "SOLUTION" So Others Can Find Help.
Beowolfv
Honorary Adventurer
Kudos: 24
Posts: 307
Registered: 11-03-2012
Message 2 of 10 (3,193 Views)

Re: Skype won't load with Windows

Yes, I do click on Save. I'm running Comodo Internet Security Premium. Skype always started with Windows until I updated to v5.9.0.114. I thought that this might have been a bug introduced in that which was corrected in 5.9.0.115 but changing to that made no difference.
7leagues
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 11
Posts: 20
Registered: 31-08-2011
Message 3 of 10 (3,189 Views)

Re: Skype won't load with Windows

Have you tried completely removing Skype and reinstalling?

Regards,
Beowolfv

-If I Answered Your QuestionThenPlease Give "KUDOS" And Mark It As A "SOLUTION" So Others Can Find Help.
Beowolfv
Honorary Adventurer
Kudos: 24
Posts: 307
Registered: 11-03-2012
Message 4 of 10 (3,184 Views)

Re: Skype won't load with Windows

No. I will give that a go and get back to you.
7leagues
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 11
Posts: 20
Registered: 31-08-2011
Message 5 of 10 (3,179 Views)

Re: Skype won't load with Windows

If that doesn't work, the other thing I have noticed is you have to have both Start Skype when I start Windows and Sign me in when Skype starts (Located on Skypes Sign in screen) checked.

Regards,
Beowolfv

-If I Answered Your QuestionThenPlease Give "KUDOS" And Mark It As A "SOLUTION" So Others Can Find Help.
Beowolfv
Honorary Adventurer
Kudos: 24
Posts: 307
Registered: 11-03-2012
Message 6 of 10 (3,176 Views)

Re: Skype won't load with Windows

I found the cause. I have an app called Soluto installed. One of its goals is to speed up boot time by allowing you to decide which of your apps should start in boot and which can be delayed or paused. I had Skype delayed and it seems that doing that undoes Skype's option to start with Windows. By returning it into boot via Soluto it now starts normally.

 

Thanks for your assistance in any event Beowolfv! :happy:

7leagues
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 11
Posts: 20
Registered: 31-08-2011
Message 7 of 10 (3,154 Views)

Re: Skype won't load with Windows

Always glad to do what I can. Norton also has this same function and problem with Skype, just putting it out there.
Regards,
Beowolfv

-If I Answered Your QuestionThenPlease Give "KUDOS" And Mark It As A "SOLUTION" So Others Can Find Help.
Posted from Apple iPhone
Beowolfv
Honorary Adventurer
Kudos: 24
Posts: 307
Registered: 11-03-2012
Message 8 of 10 (3,110 Views)

Re: Skype won't load with Windows

After installing Skype, I get a blank Skype logo and blue sky background. What do I do?

 

spearmangroup
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 12-05-2012
Message 9 of 10 (3,102 Views)

Re: Skype won't load with Windows


spearmangroup wrote:

After installing Skype, I get a blank Skype logo and blue sky background. What do I do?

 


The problem is with your Internet Explorer and JavaScript.

 

Look here for an appropriate solution.

 

http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows-Knowledge-Base/Empty-sign-in-log-in-window/ta-p/630627

 

Be careful with selecting the correct procedure corresponding to your Windows system and the version of Internet Explorer.

 

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6945
Posts: 44253
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 10 of 10 (3,097 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling