Skype using too much RAM

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply

Skype using too much RAM

Hi,

 

I am using Skype v5.5.0.113 on Windows 7 Home Premium SP 1. 

 

My skype is taking up 180 - 200 MB of RAM. Every few minutes it also does something to my sound system (Basically, it distorts any music I'm listening to every few minutes).

 

It has never done this in the past and only started since I last upgraded skype to its new version. I uninstalled and reinstalled skype. The problem persists.

 

How do I fix this?

Prahar
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 21-08-2011
Message 1 of 18 (11,179 Views)

Re: Skype using too much RAM

I seem to have run into the same issue with Skype v5.5.0.112 on Windows 7 Ultimate x64. Skype would grow to well over 200 megabytes in size. I didn't realize it was related but I also have a problem with music in iTunes stuttering every few minutes. I have just upgraded to Skype v5.5.0.114 which seems to have fixed the memory usage problem, though it may be too early to tell. (By the way I had to download the installer as "Check for Updates" said I already had the latest version.)

jameslick
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 25-08-2011
Message 2 of 18 (11,046 Views)

Re: Skype using too much RAM

This versions is said to use less memory:

 

A new version has just been released August 23, 2011:


Please download/install this version from here, when prompted click the open or run button: http://www.skype.com/go/getskype

 

This new version is 5.5.0.114 to check what version you have, using the main Skype client window please do:

 

Help -> About Skype

 

TheUberOverLord
Aviator
Kudos: 588
Posts: 12505
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 3 of 18 (11,033 Views)

Re: Skype using too much RAM

Just wanted to follow up on this issue. The problem of memory usage was solved after upgrading to 5.5.0.114. The audio stutter problem turned out to be unrelated as it was still happening when Skype wasn't running. Turns out that was caused by a bug in the Connexant HD Audio driver on some of the new Acer laptops which is fixed by uninstalling that driver package and using the generic Microsoft driver.

jameslick
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 25-08-2011
Message 4 of 18 (10,979 Views)

Re: Skype using too much RAM

I use Skype 5.5.0.124 cost 130MB RAM, what is problem with it?
thanhhr
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 02-11-2011
Message 5 of 18 (10,745 Views)

Re: Skype using too much RAM

I am also running 5.5.0.124 and Skype chews down 117M RAM while sitting minimised in the background, its dragging down more RAM than Chrome's main instance... Can anyone help with ways to reduce its usage - or should I just switch the bugger off?

RyanG
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 22-11-2011
Message 6 of 18 (10,572 Views)

Re: Skype using too much RAM

How much RAM Skype is using depends very much on the device drivers which Skype is using. Webcam, sound or graphic devices may use a lot of RAM and this also makes Skype consuming a lot of RAM. 100 -130 MB is now normal for Skype, even when idling.

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 7082
Posts: 44660
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 7 of 18 (10,563 Views)

Re: Skype using too much RAM

[ Edited ]

Hmmm - XP pro SP3, skype ver. 5.5.0.124 and the amount it uses when offline is ~100MB, once activated, over a short period of time it starts eating up to 500 MB ... somehow I think that his is a bit too much .. :/

sairam_lv
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 10-12-2011
Message 8 of 18 (10,311 Views)

Re: Skype using too much RAM

I'm having the same problem using the latest version of Skype (5.10.0.116) on XP SP3.

If I leave it open for a couple of hours it starts using over 500 MB of ram.

Pablo_Cian
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 05-11-2012
Message 9 of 18 (7,578 Views)

Re: Skype using too much RAM


Pablo_Cian wrote:

I'm having the same problem using the latest version of Skype (5.10.0.116) on XP SP3.

If I leave it open for a couple of hours it starts using over 500 MB of ram.


Make sure that Skype is not set to run in Compatibility mode.

Right click on desktop shortcut, select Properties and then the Compatibility tab. No options should be selected there at all.

 

Also, what Antivirus or other security software is installed on your computer?

 

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 7082
Posts: 44660
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 10 of 18 (7,573 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling