Skype upgrade

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Accepted Solution

Skype upgrade

I have followed the upgrade procedure. ie load and then run SkypeSetupFull.  It will not allow me to do it. I "have not the right permisions" although I am an Administrator on my system. It stopped part way through the procedure. I do not now have any icons to run, it has removed the program prior to upgrade. Help please

This widget could not be displayed.
lizziemike
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Message 1 of 9 (2,897 Views)

Re: Skype upgrade

You may try the procedure outlined here in order to install a new version of Skype without using any installer program:

http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows/How-to-update-Skype-without-using-any-Skype-installer/m-p/7073...

Just download without installing the latest msi-installer for the current 6.0.0.126 version:

http://download.skype.com/msi/SkypeSetup_6.0.0.126.msi

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6978
Message 2 of 9 (2,892 Views)

You can try Portable version

http://portableapps.com/apps/internet/skype_portable

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6478
Message 3 of 9 (2,884 Views)

Many thanks. It now is installed.
lizziemike
Novel Adventurer
Message 4 of 9 (2,864 Views)

You are very welcome and thank you for your feedback.