Skype Disk I/O error???

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply
Accepted Solution

Skype Disk I/O error???

Every time I try to log in, it says:

 

Disk I/O error. Right-click the Skype icon in the Windows tasbar at the bottom right of your screen and choose Quit. Then restart Skype. If you keep seeing this error, please contact Skype customer support.

 

Help!!!

This widget could not be displayed.
Tamim
Super Aviator

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

Try to reset skype settings

 

Exit Skype : From the system tray >> right click on the skype icon and click "Quit Skype"

 

Click Start >> Run Type: %appdata% Rename folder "Skype" to "Old_Skype"

 

Re-run Skype

 

Note: You will need your password to re-log on, and re-set any options from default

View solution in original post
This widget could not be displayed.
elizabeth_a_93
Casual Adventurer

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

Thank you very much! It worked! :bigsmile:

View solution in original post
elizabeth_a_93
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: 11-10-2012
Message 1 of 20 (20,865 Views)

Re: Skype Disk I/O error???

I have the same problem, I either get the I/O error, or my Skype bombs out to the login screen.

Ian2209
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 11-10-2012
Message 2 of 20 (20,838 Views)

Re: Skype Disk I/O error???

Try to reset skype settings

 

Exit Skype : From the system tray >> right click on the skype icon and click "Quit Skype"

 

Click Start >> Run Type: %appdata% Rename folder "Skype" to "Old_Skype"

 

Re-run Skype

 

Note: You will need your password to re-log on, and re-set any options from default

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6257
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 3 of 20 (20,832 Views)

Re: Skype Disk I/O error???

Thank you very much! It worked! :bigsmile:

elizabeth_a_93
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: 11-10-2012
Message 4 of 20 (20,808 Views)

Re: Skype Disk I/O error???

You are very welcome and thank you for your feedback.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6257
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 5 of 20 (20,796 Views)

Re: Skype Disk I/O error???

請問~

 

單擊“開始”>>“運行類型:%APPDATA%重命名文件夾”Skype“的”Old_Skype“

 

這句 是什麼意思 我聽不懂 可以再說明一下嗎?
我的SKYPE也是磁盤I / O錯誤 麻煩一下 謝謝。

王子飭
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 13-10-2012
Message 6 of 20 (20,702 Views)

Re: Skype Disk I/O error???


王子飭 wrote:

請問~

 

單擊“開始”>>“運行類型:%APPDATA%重命名文件夾”Skype“的”Old_Skype“

 

這句 是什麼意思 我聽不懂 可以再說明一下嗎?
我的SKYPE也是磁盤I / O錯誤 麻煩一下 謝謝。


This is English section. Please post only in English.

You can also try this:

http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows/quot-Skype-has-stopped-working-quot/m-p/980308/highlight/true#...

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6257
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 7 of 20 (20,698 Views)

Re: Skype Disk I/O error???

It does mean you loose all your unread chat history, downloaded pictures, etc... But you can copy those over selectively from the folder now named skype.old.

 

Cheers Tamim.

Ian2209
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 11-10-2012
Message 8 of 20 (20,530 Views)

Re: Skype Disk I/O error???

Hmm... it's doing it again now. Do I just do the same thing every time it happens? :womanfrustrated:

elizabeth_a_93
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: 11-10-2012
Message 9 of 20 (20,496 Views)

Re: Skype Disk I/O error???

How do you shut your Skype down? Are you using the Quit option? Do you Quit Skype before shutting your computer down?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6430
Posts: 42762
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 10 of 20 (20,491 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling