Options: Default "Use _ _ _ port for incoming conn...

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Accepted Solution

Options: Default "Use _ _ _ port for incoming connections" - What's the number?

[ Edited ]

Hi,

I'm a Newbie to Skype, and I've just installed it on my Win7 PC. I was just going through Tools/Options and tweaking a few of the basic User preference type settings, and when I clicked on 'Save' to close the dialog box I got an "Invalid Port" pop-up error dialog box message.

I've now gone to Tools/Options/Advanced Settings/Connection, and I notice that there's no number present [i.e. the box is blank] in the "Use <blank> port for incoming connections", however, the "Use port 80 and 443 as alternatives for incoming connections" box is checked. Does the "Invalid Port" error message indicate that there should be a number entered into the aforementioned blank box, or is there something else that requires my attention?

FYI: I haven't used or connected to Skype at all at this point . . . 'still a Skype virgin :wink:

Kev'. (UK)

Edit - FYI Also: "Enable uPnP" box IS also checked [by default - not by me]

Edit 2 [Ooops!]: Having just read a 'recommended' associated previous post, I should also have mentioned that I have a Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router With SpeedBooster - Model WRT54GS' in the mix - Therefore, do I perhaps need to 'tell it' about Skype so that it can 'allocate a port' or something . . . ????  

This widget could not be displayed.
Tamim
Super Aviator

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

You can type any port between 1024 and 65535.

and ignore the "Invalid Port" error message (Click OK)