Muted microphone

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply

Muted microphone

how to unmute microphone on skype?

my microphone is not working on skype only its inbuilt in laptop.

yogesh_explorer
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 12-07-2011
Message 1 of 14 (13,949 Views)

Re: Muted microphone

I presume that you have selected the right microphone input in Skype -> Tools -> Options -> Audio settings.

 

If you open Windows Sound control panel and the Recording Tab, can you see there your external microphone? Check if it is not muted there.

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 5780
Posts: 41393
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 14 (13,945 Views)

Re: Muted microphone

skype and control Panel setting is correct but till its not working...

yogesh_explorer
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 12-07-2011
Message 3 of 14 (13,942 Views)

Re: Muted microphone

I am having the same problem.

 

Microphone is set up properly and in Windows and Skype settings the microphone shows up and I can see the bar moving when I talk showing that it recognizes the microphone in test modes.

 

However, when I try to make a call, the icon on the bottom of the screen shows the microphone with a line through it. When I click on it, it says the microphone is muted, but it is not muted, only on calls.

 

How do I fix this?

 

Thanks.

Steve

 

sbudaj
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: 20-07-2011
Message 4 of 14 (13,855 Views)

Re: Muted microphone

I’m afraid that this can be just a misunderstanding. The microphone icon at the bottom of the call screen indeed has a line trough it, but this actually means that this button should be used to mute the microphone. When you press the button, the microphone gets muted. When you press it once more, the microphone gets un-muted. The button’s image doesn’t change and this might be quite confusing. Confusing design!!
ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 5780
Posts: 41393
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 5 of 14 (13,849 Views)

Re: Muted microphone

Initially, there was no sound when I tried the test call. I could not get it to hear me.

 

After playing it, I have gotten it to hear me. Not sure what did it.

 

Your statement that the icon is confusing is correct. Perhaps I thought it was muted and hit it thinking that would un-mute it and really I muted it which is whyt the test call did not work.

 

I installed the newest version of Skype and restrted it and now it seems to be working.

 

Thank for the reply.

 

sbudaj
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 5
Registered: 20-07-2011
Message 6 of 14 (13,844 Views)

Re: Muted microphone

I just realized that as well.  :happy:



IF YOU FOUND OUR POST USEFUL THEN PLEASE GIVE "KUDOS". IF IT HELPED TO FIX YOUR ISSUE PLEASE MARK IT AS A "SOLUTION" TO HELP OTHERS. THANKS!
ALTERNATIVE SKYPE DOWNLOAD LINKS | HOW TO RECORD SKYPE VIDEO CALLS | HOW TO HANDLE SUSPICIOS CALLS AND MESSAGES
SEE MORE TIPS, TRICKS, TUTORIALS AND UPDATES in
| skypefordummies.blogspot.com | 


Primemover
Power User
Kudos: 1469
Posts: 7306
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 7 of 14 (13,843 Views)

Re: Muted microphone

Absolutely ridiculous....if this is supposed to be an update, it is a disservice to all who use Skype!!!  You mean I wasted all these hours freaking out about it, I really need to make some important calls and have already paid money to make them.  I also ended up wiping out my portable hard drive in the process of trying to fiddle with my computer.  The line was not there before on the microphone and it does not need to be there now either.  Skype, you should fix this immediately.

 

antilu
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 20-07-2011
Message 8 of 14 (13,836 Views)

Re: Muted microphone

My built in microphone on my notebook is working fine. I checked it on Skype’s "check settings." It would not work when doing the Echo Sound Service test. I tried it having clicked on the microphone symbol and tried again having clicked on the microphone symbol again and I have removed Skype from my computer and reloaded it and still cannot get the microphone to work.

Please give me suggestions.

GJ
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 21-07-2011
Message 9 of 14 (13,813 Views)

Re: Muted microphone

[ Edited ]

GJ wrote:

My built in microphone on my notebook is working fine. I checked it on Skype’s "check settings." It would not work when doing the Echo Sound Service test. I tried it having clicked on the microphone symbol and tried again having clicked on the microphone symbol again and I have removed Skype from my computer and reloaded it and still cannot get the microphone to work.

Please give me suggestions.


Please do only Step 3 in your case.

 

Please follow these Steps:

 

1. Only do Step 1 if you are on WIN7:

 

Stop Skype.

 

Be sure that Compatibility Mode is not enabled (right-click on Skype shortcut icon/launcher and select Properties >> Compatibility) - for Windows 7 users only.

 

Try to launch Skype.

 

2. If Step 1 fails or you are NOT using WIN7 do:

 

Open an Internet Explorer browser, and go to msn.com, what happens?

 

If it fails, Please do the instructions below. Using your Windows Control Panel, please do:

 

Internet Options -> Advanced Tab Please click the "Reset" button.

 

Then, Go to the Connections Tab.

 

Make sure that the only checkbox checked is "Automatically detect settings", then click the "OK" button.

 

Close any open Internet Explorer browser windows, open a new IE browser window and try msn.com again. What happens? If it works, please stop/start Skype What happens?

 

3. If Step 2 does NOT solve the problem:

 

Please install the beta version using the instructions below:

 

You can install the Current beta release by doing this from the top of this page:

 

Get Skype -> Windows -> Choose the beta release, please do NOT remove what you already have installed, simply, install over.

 

These instructions have worked for many and is the quickest thing to try to resolve issues such as this.

 

Also, what operating system are you on?

 

What is the Make and Model of your computer?

 

Do you have all Windows updates and updates to any hardware devices by the manufacturers?

TheUberOverLord
Aviator
Kudos: 574
Posts: 12505
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 10 of 14 (13,809 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling