Re: Menu bar missing

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply
Accepted Solution

Menu bar missing

I have instaled the skype v 5.8.0.158, on windows 7 starter, but the part of the menu bar is missing. I have only

SKYPE

/CLOSE

TOOLS

/CHANGE LANG

/CONECT OPT

/ACCES.

HELP

/

/

Thanks for the help.

 

 


 

ruwim
Community Ambassador

Accepted Solution

Try this:

Go to Windows Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> Right click on Command Prompt, select 'Run as administrator'.


C:\Windows\System32>

If this is not the case, then in the Command Prompt type: cd c:\windows\system32 and press Enter.

Type this and then press Enter:

regsvr32 jscript.dll

Next type this and press Enter:

regsvr32 jscript9.dll

After each Enter you should receive a message saying that DllRegisterServer in XXX.dll succeeded.

Reboot your computer.

Make now the test showing if your Internet Explorer can execute JavaScript.

Open in your Internet Explorer (no other browser but only IE) this page:

http://www.mistered.us/test/alert.shtml

Click on the “Simply Click This Button” button and watch the response.
View solution in original post
tex43
Routine Adventurer

Accepted Solution

This present post.

Although the solution appeared to self resolve after downloading the full version of Skype, which I did without prompt.

View solution in original post
pavol
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 01-04-2012
Message 1 of 85 (9,106 Views)

Re: Menu bar missing

[ Edited ]
What is the version of Internet Explorer installed on your computer?
In Internet Explorer go to Help -> About Internet Explorer.
P.S. Please, don’t say that you are not using Internet Explorer. This is irrelevant. Skype depends on Internet Explorer.
ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6605
Posts: 39521
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 85 (9,093 Views)

Re: Menu bar missing

Hi,

 

I am using IE 9

pavol
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 01-04-2012
Message 3 of 85 (9,082 Views)

Re: Menu bar missing

[ Edited ]
Try this:

Go to Windows Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> Right click on Command Prompt, select 'Run as administrator'.


C:\Windows\System32>

If this is not the case, then in the Command Prompt type: cd c:\windows\system32 and press Enter.

Type this and then press Enter:

regsvr32 jscript.dll

Next type this and press Enter:

regsvr32 jscript9.dll

After each Enter you should receive a message saying that DllRegisterServer in XXX.dll succeeded.

Reboot your computer.

Make now the test showing if your Internet Explorer can execute JavaScript.

Open in your Internet Explorer (no other browser but only IE) this page:

http://www.mistered.us/test/alert.shtml

Click on the “Simply Click This Button” button and watch the response.
ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6605
Posts: 39521
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 4 of 85 (9,075 Views)
g4pilut
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 1392
Posts: 12934
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 5 of 85 (8,630 Views)

Re: Menu bar missing

g4pilut
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 1392
Posts: 12934
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 7 of 85 (8,628 Views)

Re: Menu bar missing

Thanks a lot, its working now, after yours sugested changes !

pavol
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 01-04-2012
Message 5 of 85 (9,072 Views)

Re: Menu bar missing

Hi G4pilut!

Umm, I'm having the same issue after downloading the new version.  I tried what you advised but it didn't work for me.  I must have a different version or something.  It said microsoft Windows version 6.1.7600 on the black screen if that helps.  Thanks for any help you can give.

 

humpbax
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 02-04-2012
Message 8 of 85 (8,559 Views)

Re: Menu bar missing

What black screen are you referring to?  The problem being discussed in this thread usually manifests itself with a blank blue screen when trying to signin.  Is this what you're seeing?

 

blank_signin.jpg

 

 




Please note: I do not respond to requests for help via Private Message.
g4pilut
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 1392
Posts: 12934
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 9 of 85 (8,543 Views)

Re: Menu bar missing

YES!!!!  The black screen I was referring to was the one where you were typing the commands that were listed.

humpbax
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 02-04-2012
Message 10 of 85 (8,532 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling