25-09-2011 14:23 - edited 25-09-2011 14:25
I. If you have been deleted by a person from their contact list, you will not be able to see their online status and mood message. So when you check their name in your contact list, what you will see is the gray Skype icon with a question mark inside.
II. When you open their IM/Call window, you will see the This Contact Has Not Shared Their Contact Details With You notification.
III. When you hover the cursor over their name in the View Profile window, you will not be able to see their Last Seen information. Instead, the notification This Contact Has Not Shared Their Contact Details With You will also be displayed.
This was definitely true for me a few months ago. I would see a grey icon with "This person has not shared their details with you" when I have been deleted by a contact.
That person added me back for awhile but blocked me, and then deleted me again a couple of months ago. But this time, I keep seeing that person as "Offline" even as I am 100% sure that I have been deleted from their contact list.
How I can be so sure, is that when I go to Tools>Options>Privacy>Blocked contacts, under the drop-down list which says "You can prevent a person from contacting you by selecting from the list below", I only see the other contacts, and not that person's name.
For someone who treats a friend this way it's surely for the better that the contact is off my list, but the fact that Skype has such inconsistencies is really bothering me, along with other issues I've heard. Why would people prefer this program?
Thanks for the clarification. However, this person has always been on my contact list. I can block them by right-clicking on their contact, but if I try do the same from the Options window as mentioned, I don't see their name in the drop-down. I wasn't trying to block that person, but it was just an observation that I made. I guessed if I'm no longer on someone's list then I would not be able to block them? Would your reasoning be that when someone has been deleted, the deleted contact may not always see the grey icon?
28-10-2012 18:41 - edited 28-10-2012 20:11
whether you are on someone's contact list or not has ZERO to do with whether you can Block them
when you see the grey question mark as status for someone that you were formerly able to see their online status (and non-public profile details), all it means is that you are no longer authorized by that user, and this occurs when you are Deleted from that user's contact list
seeing the grey question mark as status does NOT tell you that you were Blocked -- if you had ONLY been Blocked, you would constantly see OFFLINE as that contact's status and you would still be able to see non-public details for that contact
the list that you see in Options (where you can select a Skype Name to Block), only seems to be displaying contacts with whom you have had recent contact
presumably the user you wish to contact will be someone with whom you have recent contact, but if not, then you can Block that user by right-clicking on their name on your Contact List
I experimented before with my other user account, and observed the same issue as with said blocker/deleter. But then if like you said the drop-down menu only displays recent mutual contacts (since I couldn't have been sending messages to myself) then perhaps you are right. I can't see why Skype would have done that though. Thanks anyway!