GetLogicalProcessorInformation fatal error

Welcome To get started please read our short introduction.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply

GetLogicalProcessorInformation fatal error

[ Edited ]

Hi ,

after the latest update, skype no longer works on my desktop (on the iphone it's fine)

I have IE8 , also tried to install it again, but nothing.

When I try to open skype  I get a "fatal error" pop up

Please help

 

daniapo
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 6
Registered: 08-10-2013
Message 1 of 12 (1,438 Views)

Re: Problem skype


daniapo wrote:

Hi ,

after the latest update, skype no longer works on my desktop (on the iphone it's fine)

I have IE8 , also tried to install it again, but nothing.

When I try to open skype  I get a "fatal error" pop up

Please help

 


What exactly is the "fatal error" saying?

Do you have Service Pack 3 installed?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6333
Posts: 53921
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 12 (1,430 Views)

Re: Problem skype

It says  " Failed ti get proc address for GetLogicalProcessorInformation (kernel 32.dll)

daniapo
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 6
Registered: 08-10-2013
Message 3 of 12 (1,417 Views)

Re: Problem skype

I just found out that I may not be able to install SP3 because  I'm on a 32 bit

is it correct?
 then I can no longer  use skype on my desktop??

 

daniapo
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 6
Registered: 08-10-2013
Message 4 of 12 (1,414 Views)

Re: Problem skype

[ Edited ]

daniapo wrote:

I just found out that I may not be able to install SP3 because  I'm on a 32 bit

is it correct?
 then I can no longer  use skype on my desktop??

 


No, this is not correct. You can install SP3 on 32-bit Windows XP.

 

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/help/learn-how-to-install-windows-xp-service-pack-3-sp3

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6333
Posts: 53921
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 5 of 12 (1,411 Views)

Re: Problem skype

I followed the instruciton to install  SP3 but it didin't work

Is there a way I can install the previous version  of Skype?

 

daniapo
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 6
Registered: 08-10-2013
Message 6 of 12 (1,388 Views)

Re: Problem skype


daniapo wrote:

I followed the instruciton to install  SP3 but it didin't work

Is there a way I can install the previous version  of Skype?

 


The last version that may work without SP3 installed is 6.6.0.106.

 

http://download.skype.com/msi/SkypeSetup_6.6.0.106.msi

 

 

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6333
Posts: 53921
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 7 of 12 (1,385 Views)

Re: GetLogicalProcessorInformation fatal error

ooo

 

mimija13
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 22-02-2014
Message 8 of 12 (944 Views)

Re: Problem skype

The link for the 6.0 version worked and I used skype fine for a year. This morning it did an authomatic update and now Ihave the same issue with the fatal error

Your link no longer works, can u send it again please?

daniapo
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 6
Registered: 08-10-2013
Message 9 of 12 (721 Views)

Re: Problem skype

Download links for older Skype versions are not provided any longer.

You should look at getting the upgrade to SP3 done ( http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/help/learn-how-to-install-windows-xp-service-pack-3-sp3 )... But given that support for XP has ended I recommend upgrading to a newer Windows version now.


Follow the latest Skype Community News
Did my reply answer your question? Accept it as a solution to help others, Thanks.
Claudius
Community Manager
Community Manager icon
Kudos: 16609
Posts: 9996
Registered: 22-06-2011
Message 10 of 12 (717 Views)
Reply

© 2015 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling