Failed to get proc address

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply

Failed to get proc address

Last week my skype were working fine then when i sign in a message pop out 'Failed to get proc address for GetLogicalProcessInformation'. So i uninstall skype and everything then install the latest version but it won't ever let me download and the same message comes out. over and over! not really a computer person and help is very much appreciated. Thanks.

Green_caT
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 27-09-2013
Message 1 of 5 (1,094 Views)

Re: Failed to get proc address

[ Edited ]

There are quite a few posts on this exact same issue. Your XP does not meet the minimum OS/Service Pack requirement to run Skype. You will need to update your XP to Service Pack 3 for the latest version of Skype (currently 6.7) to execute properly.

http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows-desktop-client/failed-to-get-proc-adress-for-GetLogicalProcess...

http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows-desktop-client/Fatal-Error-Failed-to-get-proc-address-for/m-p/...

 

If the process confuses you, you can watch this step-by-step video at the following location:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HYd-oZxPdX0

techfreak
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 1490
Posts: 5795
Registered: 30-11-2012
Message 2 of 5 (1,091 Views)

Re: Failed to get proc address

i have the same problem...how can a skype running perfectly on my desktop suddenly shut down like this ? obviously system requirements are ok ...else it would not run in the first place ! so, how can suddenly system requirements become inadequate !! i am already running skype 6.9 which is the latest version !!

natbohi
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 27-10-2013
Message 3 of 5 (992 Views)

Re: Failed to get proc address


natbohi wrote:

i have the same problem...how can a skype running perfectly on my desktop suddenly shut down like this ? obviously system requirements are ok ...else it would not run in the first place ! so, how can suddenly system requirements become inadequate !! i am already running skype 6.9 which is the latest version !!


The latest Skype version that was not requiring access to GetLogicalProcessInformation function (contained in the kernel32.dll library) was version 6.6

 

http://download.skype.com/msi/SkypeSetup_6.6.0.106.msi

 

All Skype versions newer that 6.6 require access to this function, and this function is ONLY AVAILABLE on Windows XP computers if Service Pack 3 (SP3) is installed.

 

So, if you want to be able to run any recent Skype versions (>6.6), then you need to update your Windows XP installation to Service Pack 3.

 

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/help/learn-how-to-install-windows-xp-service-pack-3-sp3

 

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6298
Posts: 45638
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 4 of 5 (989 Views)

Re: Failed to get proc address


natbohi wrote:

i have the same problem...how can a skype running perfectly on my desktop suddenly shut down like this ? obviously system requirements are ok ...else it would not run in the first place ! so, how can suddenly system requirements become inadequate !! i am already running skype 6.9 which is the latest version !!


The minimum requirements for Skype have not changed for some time.  The requirement has been XP SP3 for years.  People ignore that requirement and continue to run Skype anyway.  It has only been recently  (Skype 6.7 and above) that not having it will not allow you to run the program at all.

 

 

techfreak
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 1490
Posts: 5795
Registered: 30-11-2012
Message 5 of 5 (984 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling