Re: Corrupt executable

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply
Accepted Solution

Corrupt executable

Trying to download skype,i click to save the executable ,then one of two things keep happening.

1. when it runs i get an error executable is corrupt please re-install

2. Skype is having trouble downloading click here to goto another location .

for 1 i tried re-installing ...same thing.

for 2 i click to goto different location.it then downlaods full version i click to run it ...same error.

im on windows 7 64 bit laptop

any help is appreciated.thank you.

This widget could not be displayed.
TheUberOverLord
Aviator

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution


siIversurfer wrote:

Many thanks for the quick responce..i tried all and i still have the same problem..the strange part is ive had skype working  on this laptop before.Not sure where to go next .

 

Please follow these Steps:

 

1. Only do Step 1 if you are on WIN7:

 

Stop Skype.

 

Be sure that Compatibility Mode is not enabled (right-click on Skype shortcut icon/launcher and select Properties >> Compatibility) - for Windows 7 users only.

 

Try to launch Skype.

 

2. If Step 1 fails or you are NOT using WIN7 do:

 

Open an Internet Explorer browser, and go to https://login.skype.com/account/login-form?intcmp=sign-in&return_url=https%3A%2F%2Fsecure.skype.com%2Faccount%2Flogin , what happens?

 

If you see a message box that contains a connect button, please click on the connect button.

 

If the page fails to display, Please do the instructions below. Using your Windows Control Panel, please do:

 

Internet Options -> Advanced Tab Please click the "Reset" button.

 

Then, Go to the Connections Tab.

 

Make sure that the only checkbox checked is "Automatically detect settings", then click the "OK" button.

 

Close any open Internet Explorer browser windows, open a new IE browser window and try https://login.skype.com/account/login-form?intcmp=sign-in&return_url=https%3A%2F%2Fsecure.skype.com%2Faccount%2Flogin again. What happens? If it works, please stop/start Skype What happens?

 

3. If Step 2 does NOT solve the problem:

 

Please install the normal version using the instructions below:

 

You can install the Current release by clicking this link: http://download.skype.com/SkypeSetup.exe

Please do NOT remove what you already have installed, simply, install over.

 

 

These instructions have worked for many and is the quickest thing to try to resolve issues such as this.

 

Also, what operating system are you on?

 

What is the Make and Model of your computer?

 

Do you have all Windows updates and updates to any hardware devices by the manufacturers?


 

View solution in original post
siIversurfer
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 02-02-2012
Message 1 of 23 (6,162 Views)

Re: Corrupt executable

VooDooDoll
Super Adventurer
Kudos: 238
Posts: 2566
Registered: 06-10-2011
Message 2 of 23 (6,028 Views)

Re: Corrupt executable

Thank you- I was having the same "unable to download" problem.  One of the alternative files provided in the linked thread finally installed for me.

ironnemo
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 02-02-2012
Message 3 of 23 (6,009 Views)

Re: Corrupt executable

im not sure but i run skype 5.8 - ive tried to reinstal some various versions of skype and still it is corrupted. im reinstalling it over and over and problem persists... im using windows 7 64bit
benny11
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 02-02-2012
Message 4 of 23 (5,995 Views)

Re: Corrupt executable


benny11 wrote:
im not sure but i run skype 5.8 - ive tried to reinstal some various versions of skype and still it is corrupted. im reinstalling it over and over and problem persists... im using windows 7 64bit

Can you provide the exact error message?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 6926
Posts: 44180
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 5 of 23 (5,990 Views)

Re: Corrupt executable

Many thanks for the quick responce..i tried all and i still have the same problem..the strange part is ive had skype working  on this laptop before.Not sure where to go next .

siIversurfer
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 02-02-2012
Message 6 of 23 (5,971 Views)

Re: Corrupt executable

[ Edited ]

siIversurfer wrote:

Many thanks for the quick responce..i tried all and i still have the same problem..the strange part is ive had skype working  on this laptop before.Not sure where to go next .

 

Please follow these Steps:

 

1. Only do Step 1 if you are on WIN7:

 

Stop Skype.

 

Be sure that Compatibility Mode is not enabled (right-click on Skype shortcut icon/launcher and select Properties >> Compatibility) - for Windows 7 users only.

 

Try to launch Skype.

 

2. If Step 1 fails or you are NOT using WIN7 do:

 

Open an Internet Explorer browser, and go to https://login.skype.com/account/login-form?intcmp=sign-in&return_url=https%3A%2F%2Fsecure.skype.com%... , what happens?

 

If you see a message box that contains a connect button, please click on the connect button.

 

If the page fails to display, Please do the instructions below. Using your Windows Control Panel, please do:

 

Internet Options -> Advanced Tab Please click the "Reset" button.

 

Then, Go to the Connections Tab.

 

Make sure that the only checkbox checked is "Automatically detect settings", then click the "OK" button.

 

Close any open Internet Explorer browser windows, open a new IE browser window and try https://login.skype.com/account/login-form?intcmp=sign-in&return_url=https%3A%2F%2Fsecure.skype.com%... again. What happens? If it works, please stop/start Skype What happens?

 

3. If Step 2 does NOT solve the problem:

 

Please install the normal version using the instructions below:

 

You can install the Current release by clicking this link: http://download.skype.com/SkypeSetup.exe

Please do NOT remove what you already have installed, simply, install over.

 

 

These instructions have worked for many and is the quickest thing to try to resolve issues such as this.

 

Also, what operating system are you on?

 

What is the Make and Model of your computer?

 

Do you have all Windows updates and updates to any hardware devices by the manufacturers?


 

TheUberOverLord
Aviator
Kudos: 585
Posts: 12505
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 7 of 23 (5,969 Views)

Re: Corrupt executable

The exact error message is this

Error:Unfortunately the Skype executable is corrupted please re-install

siIversurfer
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 02-02-2012
Message 8 of 23 (5,967 Views)

Re: Corrupt executable


siIversurfer wrote:

The exact error message is this

Error:Unfortunately the Skype executable is corrupted please re-install


Please try these instructions: http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows/Corrupt-executable/m-p/472321#M41457

TheUberOverLord
Aviator
Kudos: 585
Posts: 12505
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 9 of 23 (5,965 Views)

Re: Corrupt executable

great the run in win7 mode did the trick many thanks

siIversurfer
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 02-02-2012
Message 10 of 23 (5,959 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling