Can't send video

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving

Can't send video

I'm new to Skype and the webcam, and also I was forced recently to get a new computer with Windows 7.  The camera works fine,  I can see the other person's video, we hear each other OK, I can see myself, BUT the other person can't see me.  I have followed this problem via self-help tutorials, but I always end up at: "Can't start video.  Try closing other programs that might be using your webcam."  OK, what other programs ?  All I have opened is Skype, the webcam and Internet Explorer.  What programs might be running in the background, such as Windows Live Messenger (which I'm not sure I have)?  The answer is probably already on this forum, but, wow, that's a lot to search for a novice like me.  Thanks.

birdman1517
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Message 1 of 14 (6,596 Views)

Re: Can't send video

birdman1517 wrote:

I'm new to Skype and the webcam, and also I was forced recently to get a new computer with Windows 7.  The camera works fine,  I can see the other person's video, we hear each other OK, I can see myself, BUT the other person can't see me.  I have followed this problem via self-help tutorials, but I always end up at: "Can't start video.  Try closing other programs that might be using your webcam."  OK, what other programs ?  All I have opened is Skype, the webcam and Internet Explorer.  What programs might be running in the background, such as Windows Live Messenger (which I'm not sure I have)?  The answer is probably already on this forum, but, wow, that's a lot to search for a novice like me.  Thanks.