Can't launch skype

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply
Accepted Solution

Can't launch skype

I have downloaded the newest version of skype. But when I try to run the skype set up it doesn't fully work. It gets to the part where it opens skype and it just turns black and says it cannot connect. Someone please help!

~Thanks :happy:

klo1822
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-08-2012
Message 1 of 53 (1,829 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

Does this happens after you have entered your login credentials or are you just getting a blank login window?

ruwim
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 7087
Posts: 44669
Registered: 27-06-2011
Message 2 of 53 (1,815 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

[ Edited ]

Please answer all of the following questions in your very next reply:

 

Are you running the 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows?
Which version of Internet Explorer installed on your PC?
What anti-virus application or security suite is installed?

 

Try to reinstall Skype with this link: 

http://download.skype.com/msi/SkypeSetup_5.10.0.116.msi

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6518
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 3 of 53 (1,807 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

1)Are you running the 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows? 64-bit

 

2)Which version of Internet Explorer installed on your PC? I have no clue, but i use gooogle chrome!

 

3)What anti-virus application or security suite is installed? norton, McAfee

klo1822
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-08-2012
Message 4 of 53 (1,796 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

Try to temporary disable Norton, McAfee and then reinstall skype.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6518
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 5 of 53 (1,793 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

how do i do that? :sad:

klo1822
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-08-2012
Message 6 of 53 (1,787 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

In the system tray look for a norton sign

right-click it >> choose "Disable Auto-Protect."

 

In the system tray open McAfeeSecurityCenter

Click Virus and Spyware Protection

Click Real-Time Scanning

 

Turn off and select a duration of 2-5 hours

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6518
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 7 of 53 (1,775 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

I did all of this, but when I try to download it says it can't connect to skype download server.

 

klo1822
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-08-2012
Message 8 of 53 (1,764 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

have you tried to re-install with this link?

http://download.skype.com/msi/SkypeSetup_5.10.0.116.msi
Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6518
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 9 of 53 (1,757 Views)

Re: Can't launch skype

I tried this, but then it says A network error occurred while attempting to read from the file: C;\Users\Tyler\Downloads\Skype.msi

 

klo1822
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-08-2012
Message 10 of 53 (1,751 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling