Best Skype-compatible webcam to use with Windows X...

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving

Best Skype-compatible webcam to use with Windows XP on older Dell Dimension 4400?

I'm brand new to Skype, so please forgive me if I'm asking a question with an obvious (to you) answer.  I'd appreciate some advice:

Just yesterday I had a very serious crash of my Dell Studio XPS 9000 (Windows 7) after installing Skype and a Logitech c910 vodeocam. Later, I read online of some folks having trouble with the c910 on Windows 7, and some experiencing compatibility problems between Skype and Windows 7. So, after spending a lot of time and effort getting the XPS 9000 up and running again (it wouldn't even start Windows properly!) I've removed skype and the drivers for the Logitech from the XPS.

Instead I thought I'd install Skype on my older Dell Dimension 4400 (Windows XP, service pack 2) and, after sending back the Logitech c910, get a Skype-supported videocam that would work well with the older Dell computer. Which videocam (preferably with mike) would you recommend under these circumstances? Both computers have high speed internet connections. The older Dell Dimension 4400 has a 2 GH pentium 4 processor, 512 MB DDR SDRAM (266MHz), 16 MB ATI Rage ultra 4x AGP graphics card. Of course, this is pretty slow stuff next to the 2010-vintage XPS, but I can't afford to risk another crash like I just experienced last night with the XPS.

I posed this same question to the Skype online technical expert, only to be told to go to the Skype webpage with the recommended webcams.  I hadn't found any info on that page that would help me answer my question.

Many thanks in advance.