6.3: Webcam screen wont load

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving

6.3: Webcam screen wont load

[ Edited ]

I am new to skype, so I am still trying to get it up and running, but am having trouble with the video not loading. I am able to skype just using audio.  But with video,  I can see them, but they cant see me.

By going into options> video settings> all I get is a black screen with a circle as though it is trying to load.  The message that comes up at the end of trying to load the picture is "close any other applications that might be using your webcam."

I have nothing else running.  I have tried looking in the startup programs to see if something else is using it, but have no idea what to really look for.... 

I did originally have cyberlink youcam installed, but it was coming up everytime skype was started, and I thought it was the problem, so I uninstalled it.

I have a new samsung laptop running Windows 7 with a webcam built in (SCB-1100N). All the drivers are up-to-date.  Latest version of skype (6.3.0.105).  I have uninstalled and reinstalled skype several times, this has not helped.

Can anyone help??

tina3
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Message 1 of 5 (2,183 Views)

Re: Webcam screen wont load

The associated software with the camera can cause an issue like this as well.  You might try something like manycam (manycam.com).  It acts like a middleman similar to the Cyberlink software you had installed, I just haven't tried that software.  See if your camera will work in manycam, then you can select the option in the Skype software and see if the camera works then.

techfreak
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 1305
Message 2 of 5 (2,172 Views)