The fact that status messages persist now in the Skype Home history without any ability to delete them is a serious problem. I used to be able to delete my status updates or change them at will. Now, Skype calls them "mood" messages and keeps them indefinitely in a history visible to all my contacts WITH NO OPTION TO DISABLE THIS HISTORY OR DELETE INDIVIDUAL MOOD MESSAGES THAT I WROTE! Errors or information I no longer wish to share persist without remedy!
I use skype for work communications, not as a social network, and this lame attempt by Skype to be more like Facebook is not only silly, it's also an EPIC FAIL, since even Facebook allows you to remove old posts. I have now been forced to stop using the status update feature altogether until the option to disable or delete history is available.
02-03-2012 12:32 - edited 02-03-2012 12:35
I think it most cases, a particular mood message would remain visible to your contacts for a couple to days after a few weeks only. In a particular contact with a high number of users in their contact list (who often update their own mood messages), a particular mood message could only be visible in the Skype home page for hours (as I think the Skype Home window will only display the latest 20 mood messages from contacts).
yet, having an option to delete would indeed be a useful feature for users.
For my post to be there one moment longer than I want it to is too long! Why is there no delete option?
Elsewhere on this forum, you can find people describing times they accidentally posted private messages there instead of in a chat. Small consolation to them if the messages eventually get paginated away after "a few weeks only."
So will skype listen and bring this option back ? seems more than not WANT it back. To not have any control over our own status history seems obserd !
SERIOUSLY! it's goofy that i cannot delete a message with a mistake or typo. it makes me feel dumb when people look at the staus message page!
I am sure you are sorted by now but it is acttually possible to delete your own mood message updates.
You need to delete the keyval.db database file. In order to be on the safe side, it’s best just to rename this file, so you can always get it back if something went wrong.
You can find this file by entering %appdata%\skype in the Start Run/Search box. This will open the Skype User folder. Locate there the folder with your Skype Account name and the keyval.db file will be there. You must stop Skype from running on your computer before deleting/renaming this file. Next time you start Skype a new version of this file will be recreated and all mood message updates will be removed from the home page
Unfortunately, that does not work, @woody1234.
That only deletes the message history from your computer locally, but all your contacts will still them!
The same is true for selecting the "hide" option for the messages on the Home screen.
I know! They seriously need to bring that option back. My sister made my "mood" message/status thing say "i pooped all over the floor," and it is sooo embarrassing that my friends are going to see that, its not even funny... I didnt even know they took the delete option away until now when i tried to figure it out.