recd *** AUTOCALL™ ATTENTION REQUIRED *** is this...

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!

recd *** AUTOCALL™ ATTENTION REQUIRED *** is this spam?

Hey there experts,

I am totally new to SKYPE and have gotten 3 'calls' saying I am required to go to [invalid URL] to protect my computer. Is this for real? or am I being sent to a scammer website? Am not brave enough to go to the site without knowing one way or the other. Thanks for your help.

Patricia

patricia949
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 1
Message 1 of 15 (6,935 Views)

Re: recd *** AUTOCALL™ ATTENTION REQUIRED *** is this spam?

[ Edited ]

patricia949 wrote:

I am totally new to SKYPE and have gotten 3 'calls' saying I am required to go to [invalid URL] to protect my computer.

Hello,

This is a well known SCAM. Do not respond otherwise your computer will be infected.

Block the user. We never contact customer like that.

Thank you.

SKYPE MODERATOR & BETA TESTER
TIME ZONE - US EASTERN - PHILADELPHIA PA USA - UTC MINUS 5 HOURS

I recommend that you always run the latest software version: Windows & Mac

If my advice helped to fix your issue please mark it as a solution to help others.
Please note that I generally don't respond to unsolicited Private Messages. Thank you.
NormanM
Staff Moderator
Staff Moderator icon
Kudos: 1206
Message 2 of 15 (6,917 Views)

When I block these spam calls......I always check a box "Report Abuse" ....does anything happen with this?

The spam calls are getting more annoying all the time......several within a short period of time......always disturbing my work station.

Isn't there anything Skype can do about this?

Pat

pkeegan
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 1
Message 3 of 15 (6,898 Views)

pkeegan wrote:

1. When I block these spam calls......I always check a box "Report Abuse" ....does anything happen with this?

2. Isn't there anything Skype can do about this?

Hello Pat,