17-02-2013 06:35 - edited 17-02-2013 06:38
All depends. Some people are able to tell others can't. All depends how Skype savvy the person you have blocked is. Sometimes you can tell just by viewing a profile or sending a message. However they should not be able to see if you are online. To them you will always be offline. If you have mutual friends however who are also on Skype and one of them mentions you are online. The person you have blocked will find out. I dont like the block feature. It can make friends fall out.
just some additional info, they will not receive any warning or notifications when you block them (the same goes when you unblock them).
Thanks for that.
I'm not lookin g to block 'real friends'
Unfortunately I accepted contact requests from a couple of people who had user names very similar to people who I know and they're a bit 'dark side' so I'd like to lose them !
if you fell still necessary or if you think they are misusing Skype services, you can also report those accounts to firstname.lastname@example.org.
What if it's not for skype chat, but to block them from calling your skype phone?
I have someone really burning up my line, and it's a biz line.
But they are kind of a friend, so what happens when they call my skype phone number and I've blocked them?
Not sure whether its valid for the new skype,I could see my contact and the status indicator shows they are online but only see their username (rather than edited nickname and also cant see their picture..it allows me to call or message but it just seems like they dont receive my messages ..