How can I stop people finding me on Skype please?

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Accepted Solution

How can I stop people finding me on Skype please?

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on the support board as I am unable to find an answer to my query. I would be very grateful, if anyone has a suggestion on the following:

I have had my existing Skype account for about a year. I have a monthly European subscription which I use to call my family couple of times a week and have a few contacts on Skype. 

I have been getting a few contact requests, and I block them straight away as I don't know them. The frequency was 1 contact request every 3 months. Recently, however the number of the contact requests is increasing, and I do not know anyone of them. 

I have tried changing my screen name and have checked my privacy settings that only my Skype contacts can ring me. 

I don't wish to delete my Skype account. Is there a way to stop anybody trying to search me? How can I make myself least visible to people on Skype?

Thanks in advance,

Portameous

grandsioux
Routine Adventurer

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

You need to edit your profile and remove all your identifying information. Open your web browser and go to the Skype log-in page, sign into your account, click on Profile details under your Skype name in the middle left side of the window and edit all your profile details so that no personal information remains except your Registered e-mail address under Email settings. Unfortunately, Skype Technologies will not let you delete your Skype name, or account, just as they will not let your remove their annoying ads from your Skype window. You can also edit your profile from the Skype window by clicking Skype > Profile > Edit Your Pofile.

View solution in original post
portameous
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 3