"add contact" doesn't work

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

"add contact" doesn't work

I know how I'm supposed to add new contacts with the Windows 8 app, but it doesn't work! I right-click, I click on "add contact", and instead of doing what it's supposed to, it pops up the Windows 8 search sidebar! Is it working properly for everyone else?
ShinyHappyGoth
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 16-12-2012
Message 1 of 7 (1,102 Views)

Re: "add contact" doesn't work

SHG

 

HAve you merged your Hotmail/Outlook contacts with Skypes?  If you have you can add the contact in the usual manner and if unfiltered it should show up in Skype.  Does it?

zigzag3143
Experienced Adventurer
Kudos: 17
Posts: 66
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 2 of 7 (1,094 Views)

Re: "add contact" doesn't work

Um, if that's part of whatever it automatically merges with? I don't use Hotmail or Outlook.
ShinyHappyGoth
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 16-12-2012
Message 3 of 7 (1,090 Views)

Re: "add contact" doesn't work

[ Edited ]

Try Below:

 

Type your contacts name in the search bar.

 

add a contact ms.PNG

 

Select the contact then Click add to contacts.

 

add a contact ms1.PNG

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6483
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 4 of 7 (1,070 Views)

Re: "add contact" doesn't work

Oh, geez, is THAT what's going on here? *facepalm* Okay, so it's not buggy, it just needs a redesign or hint text or something so it doesn't LOOK like it's being buggy. Thanks muchly.
ShinyHappyGoth
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 3
Registered: 16-12-2012
Message 5 of 7 (1,059 Views)

Re: "add contact" doesn't work

You are very welcome.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6483
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 6 of 7 (1,057 Views)

Re: "add contact" doesn't work

I wish mine looked like that - I have the same issues and canot add

megsy
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 22-01-2014
Message 7 of 7 (523 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling