No sign-in fields in Skype for Windows desktop

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply

No sign-in fields in Skype for Windows desktop

Hello, I am also having sign-in issues with Skype for Windows desktop on a new Windows 8 laptop. I looked on the forums for solutions-- I tried uninstalling with Revo and reinstalling, and resetting Internet Explorer, but the problem still persists.

 

When I initially installed Skype for Windows desktop several days ago, I was able to sign-in. The only thing that I can think of that has changed since then is that I uninstalled McAfee Security software (preinstalled), and turned on my ZoneAlarm firewall and antivirus settings. When I check the firewall settings in ZoneAlarm, Skype has full permissions.

 

Could you assist with this issue? Thank you!

0 Kudos
yic
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 7
Registered: 11-12-2012
Message 1 of 22 (458 Views)

Re: No sign-in fields in Skype for Windows desktop

Are you running the 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows?

Press WinKey + R to open the Run window

WinKey (the button is located between the left Ctrl and Alt with the Windows logo)

 

winkey1.png

 

Type: msinfo32.exe and press Enter

 

and see the system type in there.

 

systype.PNG

 

Which version of Internet Explorer installed on your PC?

 

Press WinKey + R to open the Run window

 

Type: iexplore.exe and press Enter

 

Help >> About Internet Explorer

 

Please do a JavaScript test.

 

Press WinKey + R to open the Run window

WinKey (the button is located between the left Ctrl and Alt with the Windows logo)

 

winkey1.png

 

Type: iexplore.exe and press Enter

Type the URL: http://javatester.org/javascript.html

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
0 Kudos
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6194
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 2 of 22 (456 Views)

Re: No sign-in fields in Skype for Windows desktop

Hello Tamim,

 

Windows 8 64-bit

Internet Explorer 10 (10.0.9200.16384)

 

Test Results:

Empty Box

 

Thank you,

0 Kudos
yic
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 7
Registered: 11-12-2012
Message 3 of 22 (453 Views)

Re: No sign-in fields in Skype for Windows desktop

Try to re-register JavaScript
http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows/Installing-skype/m-p/971420/highlight/true#M71582

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
0 Kudos
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6194
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 4 of 22 (451 Views)

Re: No sign-in fields in Skype for Windows desktop

Hi Tamim,

I received the following error messages in attached image--

 

Thanks,

0 Kudos
yic
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 7
Registered: 11-12-2012
Message 5 of 22 (448 Views)

Re: No sign-in fields in Skype for Windows desktop

Run the commands with ADMIN rights.

 

a)     Click Start.

b)     In the search box type cmd

c)     Right click on cmd and select Run as administrator.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
0 Kudos
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6194
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 6 of 22 (443 Views)

Re: No sign-in fields in Skype for Windows desktop

Hi Tamim,

I couldn't Run as Administrator in Windows 8 with your instructions. However, I went to the Charms bar, Search, typed "cmd", right-clicked on cmd app and ran as administrator. I then typed in the commands and they were successfully executed. I then restarted the computer. However, I still have a blank Skype sign-in window.

 

I redid the javascript test in IE. The Test Result box is still empty.

 

 

Thanks,

0 Kudos
yic
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 7
Registered: 11-12-2012
Message 7 of 22 (440 Views)

Re: No sign-in fields in Skype for Windows desktop

Run the SFC /scannow command with ADMIN rights.

 

a)     Click Start.

b)     In the search box type cmd

c)     Right click and select Run as administrator.

d)     Type SFC /scannow and press ENTER.

  

Restart your PC.

 

Now re-register Javascript and restart.

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
0 Kudos
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6194
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 8 of 22 (438 Views)

Re: No sign-in fields in Skype for Windows desktop

Hi Tamim,

I scanned the computer and re-registered javascript and re-started. Unfortunately the problem still persists.

 

 

0 Kudos
yic
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 7
Registered: 11-12-2012
Message 9 of 22 (427 Views)

Re: No sign-in fields in Skype for Windows desktop

Try this:
http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows/Empty-blank-login-screen/m-p/1297080/highlight/true#M98977

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
0 Kudos
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6194
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 10 of 22 (423 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling