No "Skype," folder in %appdata%

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply

No "Skype," folder in %appdata%

Hi,

I just installed Skype on Windows 8 and tried to log in, but I never go to that point. I have heard somone say to go to the Skype folder in Roaming, but it was not there. Should I create a Skype folder?

Ian_F
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 3
Posts: 5
Registered: 28-07-2013
Message 1 of 6 (5,295 Views)

Re: No "Skype," folder in %appdata%

What happens when you are trying to SIGNIN to Skype?
Did you receive any error code / messages?
Which version of Skype do you use?

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6484
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 2 of 6 (5,290 Views)

Re: No "Skype," folder in %appdata%

 I use Windows 8 Skype via Windows Store. Funny, when I got the Windows 8.1 Preview, it let me sign in. Though I still don't have a skype folder.

0 Kudos
Ian_F
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 3
Posts: 5
Registered: 28-07-2013
Message 3 of 6 (5,285 Views)

Re: No "Skype," folder in %appdata%

The location is different for modern version of Skype.

 

C:\Users\Tamim\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft.SkypeApp_kzf8qxf38zg5c

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
0 Kudos
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6484
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 4 of 6 (5,276 Views)

Re: No "Skype," folder in %appdata%

I found it, but does that mean I need to rename that folder?

 

Thanks,

Ian

0 Kudos
Ian_F
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 3
Posts: 5
Registered: 28-07-2013
Message 5 of 6 (5,271 Views)

Re: No "Skype," folder in %appdata%

Did you receive any error code / messages when you are trying to login into Skype?

Regards,
Tamim
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Location - Dhaka | Bangladesh - Standard Time Zone: GMT/UTC + 06:00 hour

If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the “Accept as Solution” button. If you found a post useful then please "Give Kudos" at the bottom of my post, so that this information can benefit others.
Tamim
Super Aviator
Kudos: 6484
Posts: 32360
Registered: 27-09-2011
Message 6 of 6 (5,262 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling