Volume and Mute

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Volume and Mute

WHY the heck would you take away the volume control and mute controls in Skype? They were not only useful, but necessary. This is ridiculous?

 

Also, the program crashes constantly, and Skype constantly drops my video connection, and I have keep turning my video back on.

 

I guess being bought by Microsoft was the worst thing to happen.

 

But at least, why the FRACK would you take something like the volume controls OUT of the program? Makes ZERO sense.

timothynielsen
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 8
Posts: 2
Registered: 19-03-2012
Message 1 of 14 (34,948 Views)

Re: Volume and Mute

Totally agree about the inconsistencies.

 

But to get volume control, try a free add-on from Rogue Amoeba -- "SoundSource":

 

http://rogueamoeba.com/freebies/

 

I've been using it for years. Add it to your top menu bar (preferences allow to do so).

m_montagne
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 12
Posts: 28
Registered: 01-02-2012
Message 2 of 14 (34,926 Views)

Re: Volume and Mute

There's not even a mute button..

 

I mean, come on..

 

(microsoft..)

Benimation
Casual Tourist
Kudos: 1
Posts: 1
Registered: 14-04-2012
Message 3 of 14 (34,855 Views)

Re: Volume and Mute

to mute on latest version of skype on apple computer press command + shift + M.

 

or go to conversation on the top menu and select mute.

 

to increase decrease volume use the computers sound up or down key from the key board.

 

this is how I use it and it works perfectly well

Vihang
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 6
Posts: 8
Registered: 14-04-2012
Message 4 of 14 (34,828 Views)

Re: Volume and Mute

do you know the shortcut for mute when out of the skype window? as the command + shift + m only works inside the chat window
charlieyeeew
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Posts: 4
Registered: 20-04-2012
Message 5 of 14 (34,806 Views)

Re: Volume and Mute

Surely if you are outside the Skype window you're going to be muting the mic system-wide? I'm not aware of any shortcut to do that. I think you'd have to create one. 

 

... but if you want to use the mouse, clicking the mic icon in the conversation window mutes it.

 

It looks like Microsoft are standardising Skype across platforms by removing stuff from the Mac version instead of adding it to Windows :sad:

ALotus
Experienced Adventurer
Kudos: 19
Posts: 100
Registered: 20-02-2012
Message 6 of 14 (34,796 Views)

Re: Volume and Mute

I joined here to add my voice to this opinion.  I need volume controls!

idic314
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Posts: 3
Registered: 20-04-2012
Message 7 of 14 (34,792 Views)

Re: Volume and Mute

[invalid URL]

 

I downgraded.

idic314
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Posts: 3
Registered: 20-04-2012
Message 8 of 14 (34,788 Views)

Re: Volume and Mute

Version 5.4 has volume controls.

mac (dot) oldapps (dot) com 

 

 

idic314
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Posts: 3
Registered: 20-04-2012
Message 9 of 14 (34,786 Views)

Re: Volume and Mute

To use mouse to mute mic, I hate it.

 

I want to have Mute short cut key , too.

 

veerasaks
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 01-06-2012
Message 10 of 14 (34,627 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling