Can't connect. Check network settings.

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving

I was using Skype for months with no problems on my macbook. Suddenly, I am unable to connect.  I didn't upgrade or change anything.  I'm running MacOSX 10.6.4 and using Skype 5.30.0.1074.

I get the following error message:

I've deleted and reinstalled Skype several times.

I've searched for every Skype file and directory on my hard drive and deleted them

I've deleted shared.xml over and over.

I can otherwise access the internet without problems.

I am a USA resident currently interning in Germany if it makes a difference.

Any solutions?

Can someone suggest a debug path?

jdarago
Casual Tourist
Kudos: 13
Message 1 of 24 (26,133 Views)

Re: Can't connect. Check network settings.

Same problem here.

New version of skype was installed fresh on a 10.6.8 machine.  we are behind a proxy server.  Proxy logs never even show Skype attempting to cpnnect.  It appears the latest version of Skype (5.3.0.1074) does not know how to communicate to the proxy srver.

Have checked/confirmed proxy settings for OS

Have checked/confirmed proxy settings for browser

There are know settings for configuring the proxy server in the UI so is there a way to imbed this in the plist file or the shared.xml file?

oepirate
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 3
Message 2 of 24 (25,869 Views)

Hi,

Being sure your status is set to "Online" ?

Hth

On ne regarde pas l'avenir dans un rétroviseur ! :wink:
IMac Intel Core i3 3.2 GHz - RAM 12 GB - OS 10.9.4
Skype 6.19.0.450
Logitech usb headset or Jabra 250 bt
Foyan
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 1131
Message 3 of 24 (25,858 Views)