Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Reply
Accepted Solution

Secondary account in Skype 4.0

How to open two Skype clients on Linux?

spitfire2312
Novel Adventurer

Accepted Solution

I have the same issue. Found this workaround:

 

1: Stop all running skype instances. 

2: Copy the directory where skype stores its options: [in home directory] cp -a .Skype .Skype2

3: Start one instance as usual

4: Start the second with skype --dbpath=~./.Skype2

 

Hope that helps...

View solution in original post
Viser
Novel Adventurer

Accepted Solution

Thanks!
It works.
View solution in original post
serres
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 1 of 18 (7,648 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Same issue
skype --secondary
got: skype: unrecognized option '--secondary'
skype /secondary
got: opened previously loaded skype.
Viser
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 2 of 18 (7,633 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

I have the same issue. Found this workaround:

 

1: Stop all running skype instances. 

2: Copy the directory where skype stores its options: [in home directory] cp -a .Skype .Skype2

3: Start one instance as usual

4: Start the second with skype --dbpath=~./.Skype2

 

Hope that helps...

spitfire2312
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 4
Posts: 3
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 3 of 18 (7,616 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Thanks!
It works.
Viser
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 4 of 18 (7,609 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Thanks
serres
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 5 of 18 (7,595 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Hi spitfire2312,

Many thanks for figuring this out and posting it, I have been able to update my start up shell scripts. I now have my multiple accounts back up and running. Kudos much deserved.
George_the_bear
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 6 of 18 (7,545 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

great! thanks! I have three accounts which I used to use simultaneously, I can start two using this method, but not the third... any ideas?
warfie3667
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 21-06-2012
Message 7 of 18 (7,227 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Hey warfie3667 I don't see any reason why it should't work. Just create a third option directory by cp -a .Skype .Skype3 and start your third instance with skype --dbpath=~/.Skype3 I would be surprised if it doesn't work. Could you try and report your result?
Posted from Apple iPad
spitfire2312
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 4
Posts: 3
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 8 of 18 (7,222 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Hi spitfire2312,

I tried exactly as you suggested and that's what didn't work...

What *DID* work was when I started all three accounts in one command with & between each one.

 

eg: skype --dbpath=~/.Skype1 & skype --dbpath=~/.Skype2 & skype --dbpath=~/.Skype3

 

Hope this helps someone else.

warfie3667
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 21-06-2012
Message 9 of 18 (7,218 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

You can use the same solution as for MacOS. For linux it will be:

 

sudo su -c "nohup skype && exit" (type this in terminal)

 

 

The advantage is that when you close terminal window the skype still working :wink:

russellmd
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 21-06-2012
Message 10 of 18 (7,215 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling